How Many People On Steemit Smoke Marijuana?

in #steemit7 years ago

pot 1.png

It seems like the users on Steemit might be a little more friendly towards cannabis than the average social community. I could be wrong, but I get that vibe a bit. And that's totally OK with me!

I'm not saying that everyone on here smokes pot. I'm sure that's definitely not the case, but I'd be curious to see the statistics compared to other communities, and if people in the crypto-world are more inclined to be "420-friendly", so to speak.

I was checking out the posts tagged under marijuana, and while they do number in the hundreds, they're dwarfed by the numbers of other topics, such as bitcoin, music, art, etc...

As a casual smoker myself, and someone who's considering giving it up for a while and taking a break from my job as a "bud-tender" at a premier marijuana dispensary here in San Diego (if not permanently), I'd just like to hear some other people's views on that subject within the Steemit community.

I've personally been feeling like it's been getting in the way of things, and I feel like I'm in a "fog" so to speak sometimes, especially when I've been smoking more. However I'm not really sure if I should try to give it up right now because I'm also quitting smoking cigarettes and drinking right now as well, and the added stress of trying to do all that at once I feel may be a bit much.

I definitely don't smoke as much these days. I also use vaporizers and vape pens instead of just smoking joints and pipes like I used to, which don't really get me all stoned either. It's more of a mellow, somewhat relaxed state, which isn't really so bad, but still seems to kill my motivation sometimes, which I would definitely like to have more of...

In any case, I'll probably quit altogether for a while whether it's now or after I've been clean of alcohol and cigarettes for a bit. I seem to be much clearer and more focused when I'm totally sober for a while, exercising, and chemical-free... which doesn't really surprise me one darn bit haha!

I know some people swear by a good Sativa like "Jack Herer" or "Green Crack" (Seth Rogan comes to mind) to help them be creative also, but I just seem to get more into a funk after I smoke, especially when it comes to active things like working out, or going hiking or even socializing and talking to people more, etc...

But it also seems like getting really high and messing around with the open-source computer code to a crypto-currency with a
market cap in the hundreds of millions of dollars might be a bad idea also, so I don't really expect to find too many crypto/computer programmers who are also daily active cannabis users, haha... But you never know, I could be wrong. Just curious...

I'd also like to hear your views on it as far as it's legalization (I'm all for it), whether or not it's a "gateway drug" (it definitely hasn't been for me) and if you've had any success with using it for various medical situations (including the use of the non-psychoactive CBD's), for things like depression, anxiety, inflammation, pain, cancer, etc.. as well as any other relevant topics that you might think of.

I'm sure it has it's good uses, and I definitely don't compartmentalize something like cannabis, or especially something more general, like "hemp" as simply "good" vs. "bad", if you know what I mean. There's a lot of grey areas there, and with something that's as highly controversial but still so much in it's infancy with so much potential, I think it deserves a bit of a discussion.

Anyway, just thought I'd share that little tidbit and see what other people's thoughts might be.

pot 2.jpg

Thanks!

Sort:  

Forget smoking it, the real buzz is in trading it!

hahahah with potCoin and marijuanaCoin
Have you heard? We have a coin for the sex industry now too.
Eros. Prostitution made easy :P

Hahah I had no idea, I meant trading pot securities on the market. Guess I'm a tiny bit behind with the crypro trend

Haha yeah I heard of potcoin, hadn't heard of marijuanacoin though... I guess id be more surprised if there wasn't one lol

I have before, but don't really enjoy it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36