wiser tries out botvoting

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I might have done this a long time ago if I'd known it would be so easy. There is this nifty website called Steemvoter that allows users to automatically upvote blog posts authored by individual Steemit accounts they want to support.

I definitely will have a use for something like this down the road so I want to take it for a test drive.

You choose the Steemit authors you want to automatically upvote by setting rules. Each rule allows you to determine percent voting strength and amount of time after post publication. Thirty minutes after publication is the time that allows the curator to benefit the most from curation rewards if the post makes it big and didn't get slammed with lots of very early upvotes so that is the time I'm using. And in keeping with my general philosophy of voting full strength I'm sticking with 100%.

With the basics of how Steemvoter works out of the way, here is where the fun begins.

Who wants to be automatically upvoted by wiser for a time (not determined but probably at least one month)?

I'm looking for small minnows, because I want my upvote to really make a difference. A small minnow has less than 2,000 SP. If that's you, read on...

Please post a comment here telling me why I should add you to my botvoting list. Tell me a bit about yourself, what you're hoping to accomplish on Steemit, what kind of content you post and why I'm gonna love it. Please share anything else that you think would make me want to upvote everything you post for the next month.

Here are a few other qualifications:

  1. I have to like your content. I'll take a look at your past content and see if it's a good fit. I'm pretty open minded but I don't do NSFW, or horror or drug promotion, new age or occult, and there are probably a few other things I'll shy away from. I'm going for wholesome, creative, informative, interesting, positive... that sort of thing.

  2. I'd like to upvote each author on average once a day. When I asked people to tag their posts with the wantwiserupvote tag I limited tagged posts to once a day and that worked very well. If you post twice in one day every so often I'm not going to fuss, especially if you've also skipped days, but please don't regularly create multiple posts in one day just to draw lots of upvotes. If I think that is happening, I'll just delete the rule that tells my account to upvote your stuff, so let's not even go there.

  3. Although this isn't school and I'm not going to dock anyone for a misspelled word or wrong use of punctuation, you do need to have a reasonable command of the written English language. You also need to have minimal formatting to make the posts readable (no big walls of text, etc.). A picture here and there is nice but not required. However, I recommend it as it seems to draw more upvotes from other people. Steemit curators like pictures :) If you're using someone else's work for your images, please cite sources by providing a link back to the original content. In short, I only want to automatically upvote stuff I would enjoy reading... if I had the time ;)

  4. Small minnows only. Less than 2,000 SP. My upvote is worth four or five cents. I want it to make a difference for you, give you that boost that encourages you to keep going.

This is going to be a learning experience for me. I'm looking forward to hearing from a few small minnows out there. If you are reading this and happen to have a lot of small minnow followers, please kindly resteem this article to get the word out to them. Thanks :)

Sort:  

Its nice to help others! I also manual vote every day like you do, but there may come a time when I use a bot. I have one set up on my Raspberry Pi but haven't used it.

Just remember that in one week, out vote becomes 4 times more powerful and it takes 1/4 as many to run low on voting power. 10 new votes will give as much as 40 current votes. Hard Fork 19 does this, as well as flatten the reward curve, which may boost our votes by a factor of 2 or so. Should be interesting!

Oh so there is a time set for HF19? The last I checked there wasn't one yet.

I'll be watching how my voting power does. There's another deal where the depletion in voting power gets less and less the more you vote because of how it's calculated. It's possible I may have to reduce my voting to 25% but only if I max out on my daily and weekly votes, which has not happened yet.

Check this: https://github.com/steemit/steem/pull/1190

Yes, there are a few things that will change with HF19. Good day to closely monitor all bots. :-)

I love the idea of helping minnows. I'm here to share the information that will help facilitate a conscious shift in awareness and liberate people from their self imposed limitations. I will be discussing lucid dreaming, cryptocurrencies, solar energy, and also vlogging my travels across the United States while checking out nature and transformational festivals.

Upvoted, Retweeted, Followed.

Hmm, I might need to try this botvoter. I've been upvoting manually up to now, and it does get a bit time consuming. Because I'm not on here all day, I do sometimes miss some of my favorite Steemians' posts. A bot could be the answer, especially if I get to control who gets an auto-upvote (I too am a 100% vote supporter). Thanks for posting your experience.

The time intensity was becoming a problem for me. Also, with the next hard fork coming up it really favors spacing out your voting as opposed to doing it all at once like you and I do, so when I learned about Steemvoter through another project I'm involved in I figured it was time to give it a try. Thanks for stopping by and commenting :)

Upvoted, followed :)
I would like to have upvotes from you:)
I posts original drawings, music, photos, etc...
Let me know if my past stories fit your interest :)

Congratulation! You've been added to my botvoting.

Wow Thank you very much :)!!
You made my day ^^ (The day is ending soon anyway lol)

I hope you prosper.
resteemed
upvoted
and when I start writing good content I hope you will return the resteem...
Namaste

Thanks :) BTW, it looks like you would qualify, so when you do start posting your own content, definitely get in touch.

Thank you Wiser, I signed up yesterday after months of hounding by my brother. I am a small government libertarian elected official. This community seems to fit, as it is whatever you want it to be. I would like to post about community and social issues from the view of a free market viewpoint and explain why it is the best system.

My basic philosophy is that the from the continuum of dictatorship to anarchy lies the sweet spot. I happen to believe that that spot is closer to anarchy than a dictatorship. The old addage that your right to swing your arm ends at the end of your neighbor's nose would sum it up for me.

I hope to bring this idea to light through discourse, logic, and reason. I would much appreciate any help in growing my voice and will do the same for others. I see steemit as the ultimate online free marketplace.

Congratulations! You have been added to my botvoting. I'm looking forward to reading more of your material. I was active in the Ron Paul campaign in 2012 and have a bit of a libertarian leaning politically. Congratulations on getting elected twice and hope your political career is amazing :)

Thank you,

I can say that my eyes have been opened to the odds that free thinking individuals are up against, even at the local level.

I bet!

Nice initiative and great use of Steemvoter to help the minnows grow! I remember when I first started out on here, I struggled for every vote and was thrilled with every cent I got from someone. It really does make a difference and provide that nice jolt of satisfaction & encouragement to keep writing!

Hi, TheCrazyGM here
You know me as michael.garcia on Viva. I work for them. I post a lot about RPGs.

Congratulations! You've been added to my botvoting. I'm also following the VIVA crownholders Streemian trail so you kind of get it double from me :)

Thank you again @wiser for including myself on this - I actually use the steemvoter tool as well but only for the 3 'freebies' you get. I am never entirely sure that the 3 users I have set in my rules readily post or when so that is the difficulty I run into - who to list in my 3 active user rules who will yield the greatest results - your thoughts . . .

You are welcome :) The 3 rules limitation is directly related to how much Steem Power you have, per the chart at the end of this article. You can see exactly who you've upvoted in real time on Steemd.com.

Awesome! I never knew that - I am at 43.656 Steem Power now so I will push to get to that 50 level. Excellent! I am having a GOOD time on the Steemit !!

I'm keen! I'm pretty new to Steemit, I've been posting photos in colorchallenge primarily, but I plan on sharing some of my Arduino and game dev projects in the future.

Congratulations! I have added you to my botvoting list. Enjoy :)

Awesome, thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84