You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: And the Award for ‘Civilized Online Behavior’ goes to? The Anarchy within STEEMIT!

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm not sure it's anarchy per se winning the day here, more like incentivized good behavior, kind of like when I reward my kids with ice cream or extra allowance for behaving well. I guess the difference is that here it's the free market that determines what behavior to reward, a kind of consensus, rather than a parent or ruler's arbitrary rules.

Sort:  

nobody is holding a gun against your head, forcing you to participate ...

Well true. I was thinking about the good behavior itself, which should be expected anywhere, but which seems to happen more frequently on Steemit because of the monetary incentive involved. This brings up a question in my mind: is anarchy defined as not being forced? If so, I would call that freedom.

well, anarchy is the political term for freedom ... they're pretty much synonyms ...

Thanks. I seriously did not know that.