You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales From The Crypto #1: Interview with @htooms

in #steemit8 years ago

This is a fantastic interview! I hope you keep this up. @htooms is one of the Steemit whales I find most interesting, so it was a lot of fun to read his replies. I have to admit, though, that I disagree with his recommendation to hardcode limit whale upvotes to only $3.00 per post, although I do recognize that would be fairer than what's happening now with certain whales deliberately downvoting after upvoting whales they consider to be too much or too concentrated. Personally, when I achieve whalehood I want to be able to vote full strength on whatever posts I want to, including my own. That is one of the reasons why I am starting to keep a paper trail about how I use my full strength votes now, which is (on a day I use all 40) 10 votes for me, 15 votes for anything I like by other people, and 15 votes for small minnows (and by that I mean accounts with less than 2,000 SP per SteemWhales). What I want to accomplish is that when I do become a whale (mostly through buying in I believe) then when I decide to drop $100 on one post by using my full strength vote, I want to be able to show that I'm not doing anything differently than what I've always done. If what I do is fair now, I think it should be fair then too. Why should I (or my voting power) be treated any differently based on the amount of SP in my wallet? My SP is not what makes me me.

Sort:  

Thanks! Yeah I hope to try and do this series either once a month or bi weekly, depends on if people are interested in being interviewed. I think it will be interesting to see what happens in the community as Steemit progresses, I still haven't made up my mind on the best approach to a few different things in regards to Steemit, including voting.

The thing with the voting for me is that 40 votes a day is a lot if you're not using bots, which I don't. I wouldn't have time to break my votes down to fractions to get more of them. It would be really frustrating if I still could only manage 40 or fewer votes a day, but then I had all this SP that was never used to influence because my votes were limited to a set dollar amount. I think what I would do, if that kind of limitation was worked into the code, is I'd just start a new account (once additional SP no longer added to the monetary value of my upvote), dump more SP into that second account, then program a bot to have that account upvote exactly everything my original account upvoted. Then I'd do that with a third account, and so forth. In the end, after much hassle, the influence would be the same. So I truly hope it doesn't come to that. Instead, it's good to try to persuade the whales to make a point to voluntarily spread their votes around in whatever way seems right to them, but not force them to do it a particular way. Those who feel strongly enough about it will figure out a workaround. Once again, great article, and looking forward to more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69