As long as I reach my goal...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I took a long break from Steemit until a couple weeks ago because life got in the way. I'm back (for now) and a lot of things have changed, hopefully for the better.

There is one thing that hasn't changed: whiny posts about how unfair Steemit is, and how it's all going to implode unless the Steemit powers that be do something quickly to end the inequality, to quit rewarding the whales at the expense of the minnows.

I find those posts a bit humorous. I also notice they often get upvotes, so I imagine there is a bit of a financial incentive to write them.

This post is a bit of a rant about posts that complain about Steemit, but I do have a larger point to make :)

As I mentioned yesterday I now have a solid goal by which I will define my initial Steemit success. The goal is to one way or another acquire 20,000 powered up Steem. Based on my crude calculations after long minutes of looking at some larger account holders' wallets and their full strength upvote value, having that amount of Steem Power will make my own upvote worth around ten cents (given today's, or at least yesterday's, Steem price).

So that's my goal. I have several options for reaching that goal. The first one I am exercising right now by writing this post. I can write, get upvotes, some of which translate into earnings, and those earnings get powered up, bringing me closer to my goal. The other option is that I can simply buy the Steem I want, then power it all up. Within that second option I have several possible ways of coming up with the funds to buy the Steem, including but not limited to selling off some of my other cryptocoins or putting some of my hard earned fiat earnings into it. I could do this all at once or I could do it over a period of time, but in the end I am prepared to buy the SP I need; it's just a matter of when.

So... when I write these posts and they net me each a grand total of 70 cents worth of earnings, how do I view it? Are my earnings this low because by some cosmic injustice the whales are in some way depriving me of my rightful earnings? Perhaps. I suspect it has more to do with my fundamental unwillingness to be bothered with either fancy formatting or good marketing, but I digress.

I look at those 20 cent and 70 cent earnings differently. To me, these earnings represent Steem I now do not have to purchase in order to meet my goal. According to my wallet I now am the proud owner of 627 SP. This means that in order to meet my goal of 20,000 SP I will need to buy an additional 19,373 more Steem.

But, if this post earns me 57 cents in author rewards, with Steem currently selling for 19 cents, that now becomes 3 Steem I no longer have to buy in order to meet my goal.

To me, that is not something to complain about, but to celebrate. Who cares what others are earning here? What matters is that this is working for ME.

My goal is to post at least one entry each day. Three Steem here, two Steem there... Over time it adds up.

And so I am Steeming on...

Sort:  

Great goal. It would take you around 6 000 posts. Look forward to your next one :-).

I will be buying SP at least once a month, so I won't have to write quite so much :)

Exactly! Everybody has to build up their own accounts, write interesting stories, gain followers, it's a snowball effect and nothing comes for free!
You don't put the hard work in you won't reap the rewards! Simple as.

Yeah that may not sound like much, but compared to other platforms, its quite a bit. Fox example, Niume pays $1USD per 1000 views...ONE THOUSAND views!! YouTube seems to pay less than that. Facebook NEVER pays LOL Yep keep writing, having fun, and STEEMING ON!

Thanks for the info for comparison purposes. That makes my Steemit earnings seem all the more like a big break :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58