You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Turning 40 Make Time Travel Faster?

in #steemit7 years ago

I think "awareness of time" has definitely crept into my consciousness a bit more since turning 40. (I actually think it was more like 35 years of age for me. When Steve Jobs died I became much more aware of my age.)

Now I realize a big part of my life is to create efficiencies that give me more time to do the things that are important to me. I don't have hours to waste on things that I can whip out in a matter of minutes with some applied focus.

So I get my thoughts more organized and in alignment with where I'm headed "before" I get into motion - it seems to condense my "task time".

PLUS, since turning 40...I don't seem to care so much about what other people think...and believe it or not, this saves me a whole ton of time. (It's amazing how much time I spent contemplating/spinning my wheels as I wondered and guessed how other people felt about me.

When I turned 40 - the "I don't give a rip if you don't dig me" phase of my life began.

Ahhh...this is living. :)

Great post @g-no!

Sort:  

To not care what others think about you is certainly something to celebrate. The feeling of living your life for no one else but yourself is a liberating feeling.

I'm far from excellent at this yet...as I'm only 43. But I find I'm sliding more and more into pleasing myself and letting the rest fall away.

Maybe by 50 I'll be in a whole different phase!

I think the better you know yourself, the less you need validation from others. Teens are so desperate to be liked and accepted during a time in their life when they're trying to figure out who they are...I guess getting older brings that self knowledge into a sharper focus.

Well said @g-no. I couldn't agree more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52