Steemit won't get more users unless it downvotes the circle jerk posts more

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hey guys! Recent user here (I made my intro last week) and I have to say I'm getting disenchanted and weary of Steemit real fast.

Here's the deal: right now, Steemit is awful. It might be better than last month, but it's annoying to use, and there's almost no quality content. It wouldn't be that bad by itself, but most (8 out of the top 10 as I'm writing this) top posts are people raving about how Steemit is the return of Jesus Christ on Earth. The 2 other top posts are random awful stories about special snowflakes who discovered backpacking is fun. The disconnect between what it does at the moment and what people say it does makes me feel like I'm involved in a cult (or a pyramid scheme), and a few of my friends I've introduced to Steemit feel the same. I'm afraid to introduce other people to it now, because I'm afraid they'll think less of me.

Unless people start downvoting more aggressively, or upvote quality posts, Steemit will circle-jerk itself until it catches fire from the friction. And if it's not a pyramid scheme, people better step up their game, because it sure feels like it is.

The emperor is naked fellas!

Sort:  

You know, there's one positive in all of this. In the last few days I've seen a big increase in people speaking out against all the nonsense and circlejerk on this get-rich-quick website.

That's exactly what we need. More rallying.

YES! Thank you, I was looking for that term. It feels like I'm on a get-rich-quick scheme right now. And that doesn't make me want to invite other people to share the experience with. I'm honestly afraid they'll think less of me (I'm adding it to the post).

Interesting for anyone who read Lean Startup. In the earlier development stages of IMVU, testers precisely told the developers that they didn't want to recommend the app because they felt their friends would think less of them.
Hopefully Steemit can learn from their user experience like IMVU did.

"special snowflakes who discovered backpacking is fun"
please dont forget the unique part, unique special snowflakes

Waaaait a minute, what do you mean by:
"Steemit is the return of Jesus Christ on Earth"??
;)

You are not saying Steemit is not the return of Jesus Christ on Earth, arent you?,
Thought Police appearing in 3....2.....1

"makes me feel like I'm involved in a cult (or a pyramid scheme)"
I would say the feeling you describe is the feeling of being in a mainstream social network

I'm not sure about that one, I unfollowed enough people on Facebook to make it pretty damn cool to browse. It's mostly scientific studies, interesting articles, and my friends goofing up.

I mostly agree with you. Theres a lot of random "this is great lets make money im addicted" bullshit, but that can only sustain itself for so long. However, I do think that people making the top posts frequently put quite a bit of time into their post. I think as the site grows, the value assigned each day will gradually become more evenly spread out (with some necessary extreme outliers).

I can't really faulty them because they're not lying, Steemit did make them rich. But they got rich when they bought Steems at 20 cents a piece and it exploded over a few days. That's not happening for the new users right now, might as well be open about it.

This is a good discussion topic. Valid, and I will start flagging, a little more, when I see junk posts. Thanks and up-voted.

Steemit is not the return of Jesus Christ on Earth, @stellabelle is

Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58981.94
ETH 3097.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38