We need sorting and filtering options on our followers pages.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I love that we can see who is following us. It's fun watching that number go up.

However, I really wish we had a way to change the viewing order. When that number goes up, I can't tell who my new followers are unless I happened to have the list memorized.

Along with being able to arrange them by most recently following, it would also be good to have a way to arrange by:

  • Reputation points
  • Member start date
  • Steem Power
  • Number of posts

I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, so I hope this post finds its way in front of someone who is.

What say ye?

Sort:  

Yep, would like to see some filtering option on the followers page. When someone new follows me I generally like to check out their blog to see if they have content I like as well.

Good idea. I find myself in the same situation.
I'd also like a better overview who is upvoting my posts. The popup screen only shows like 20 names until it's just dots. I'd like to upvote back whoever is upvoting my posts.

Exactly. I tried looking the information up on steemd.com, but it doesn't show up there.

+1. Have gone through entire follower list a couple times to try and figure out who was new and if they might be worth following back, but difficult to do so perfectly through 4 pages

Great idea, I barely have any followers, but being able to sort them is a good idea

You've got 5 followers in the 3 days you've been here. Doing good so far, just don't stop!

Thanks for the encouragement!!

Good points and good ideas. UPVOTED! Remember that we are in Beta and many of our ideas are being implemented step by step.

I'm sure the more popular suggestions get taken care of soonest. This is a pretty minor thing, but it's the one thing I keep bumping into that I haven't seen mentioned yet.

I'm not sure. On one hand, Yes, I have even wanted to know who my new follower is. I am all for every kind of increasing transparency here. On the other hand, there's a whole "follow-back" culture developing that I think is great but have decided not to participate in. Right now, I follow anyone who catches my interest and unfollow as easily if I find myself not resonating with their content or usual posting topic. I like being able to do this so causally without worrying that someone will take it personally. Overall, I'd like to see a purposeful follow order and other info. Hopefully, people won't get too obsesive about who is and isn't following them. They shouldn't. That would be lame.

I'd like to be able to sort the list. I do tend to look towards following back but I don't do it wholesale. I look at the profile and decide if their blog shows topics that might interest me. It would be good to be able to easily see who the new follower is so I can make that decision.

That might be a bit subjective, though. Just like on places like Facebook, the people who actually use their Feed will find who to follow and who not to follow after some time. People will prune their follow list based on the quality of their feed.

Oh definitely. I just thought I'd share my one hesitation. On Facebook there can be something at stake in relationships. Some people do notice if you unfollow them and stop responding to their posts but are still commenting on mutual friends'. It's only that kind of attention I think of as excessive and potentially detrimental. In some ways, there's simply nothing to be done but let those who choose to obsess figure out it only brings pain. Even though we're building relationships here, I'm hoping it stays content-focused. A more ordered feed wouldn't necessarily compromise that. I actually am fully behind your idea.

For sure, and I can understand the concern. However, in this case I think the pros outweigh the cons. In fact, when the Feed page came along, I noticed a trend of no new content getting voted on because people were spending so much time in their Feed page that they never really saw any new content. They only saw that which was posted by those they followed. Now that things have sort of adjusted from that addition, I figured it might be good to at least have some filtering options. :)

I concur winstonwolfe!

Great idea. I look at my list too, to try to figure out who my new followers are (maybe I want to follow them back), but a lot of times it's just pointless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65