Two Years

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I had no idea this place was going to be this influential on me when I joined in mid-July 2016. Not so much in recent weeks/months, but on the majority over the past 2 years in total I give it credit for a large portion of the things I've done.

It allowed me to take off nearly an entire year from work, which couldn't have been timed better considering some of the things that happened during that time, such as losing mom. I don't think I could've worked during that time since most places only let you take off a week to grieve. A week wouldn't have been enough.

Steem allowed me to take time to learn more about the cryptosphere in general, which I find to be powerful knowledge. It also allowed me to expand my creative side a bit with podcasts and art/video/audio projects, etc.
It allowed me to be me.

I haven't been terribly active for the past few months since I started going to work again, but I believe I may be better for it for the time being. My presence, activity, and availability may be sparse for now, but I'm never too far away. I do plan on coming back on a more regular basis, and when I do I plan to really invest in Steem (and other coins) rather than simply posting to earn and then withdraw.

Yes, I am currently powering down, unfortunately. But this is currently by necessity. I don't want to power down, and I wouldn't be doing it if I didn't need it. That's my own fault. I put myself in the position to have to need it. The good news is that it's temporary, and when I invest it'll be to power back up. I once was at a Steem Power level of between 8k and 9k. Compared to many that doesn't seem like much, but that was my peak. I hope to deeply bury that figure by this time next year.

It'll be interesting to see where this platform is by then.


Sort:  

Good post. Reminds me that I have now been on here for two years, started in June of 16, before even the first payout. I also powered down A LOT. Needed the money. Life happens.

congratulations for those two well-deserved years dear friend @winstonwolfe
At the beginning of Agoto, I will fulfill my first two years too, I am very grateful for that
For another two years, dear friend
I wish you a lot of success!!!!!!!!!!!!

hope so we all get sucess as soon as possible

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Winston Wolfe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Vendrán tiempos mejores amigo . Feliz tarde le deseo desde Venezuela .

Take all the time you need man. Time is all we have and it's worth spreading wisely between the important things in your life.

Sorry to hear about the necessary power down too - must've been a tough decision to make!

Sorry to hear about the necessary power down too - must've been a tough decision to make!

Not the first time I had to do it, and when you've gotten yourself in a position to need it, the decision isn't that hard to make.

Fair enough, chap. All the best.

There is a lot of great post. That's why I like your post.Thank you

hay @winstonewolfe, happy second steemit anniversary. investments are for cashing in when you need them. Look forward to you coming back

Sorry to hear that you'll be absent for a bit.. hope it wont be long and life takes a fast upturn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74