You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Want to Write for Bots that Don't Consider Content. Response to @dantheman latest voting/curation post.

in #steemit8 years ago

So glad you posted this. I do feel like many of us are creating some amazing content, but are also finding that much of it goes unseen. Which, I suppose is also a natural thing, but when you add these kinds of bots to the equation, there becomes what is "preferred by popularity", not necessarily by the quality of what's being posted. It's seeming to me to be like one's success is more based on their skills in marketing, rather than their skill in whatever they're selling.

Sort:  

Marketing is always going to be a 'necessary evil' in my mind, especially with the flood of content we are exposed to. Whether we like it or not certain things grab people, like clickbait. But at least that is a human to human connection, where even it is based around a shared goal rather than content, is beneficial to all parties and ideally enhances motivation.

I don't believe that pandering to a 'unintelligent' bot algorithm (as dan stated it) creates this same connection when the content of a post isn't digested. This hopefully can change if/when the bots get better in determine quality in (what I view) as a more meaningful way as well as provide some honest feedback on behalf of the bot owner.

Again, just my view on things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40