You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem with One-Sided Conversations

in #steemit8 years ago

I've noticed this as well, and it's rampant in chat. It's a lot of, "Hey, I upvoted your post, NOW UPVOTE MINE!!!", but with an added unspoken thorn of "but I want YOU to really read MINE, unlike me - I just voted yours so you'd pay attention to me."
It's a lot of "I'll scratch your back if you scratch mine...but I don't really have any nails, and my back is hairy," without any regard to content.
So, I tend to try to keep my chat time short.

Sort:  

Yes! I'm glad you pointed this out, Kent. I hope I conveyed my message in the post clearly, as I really don't want my stance to be misinterpreted. Personally, I really take in other users content. I don't only vote, but I leave heartfelt comments on their post, mostly to show them that I appreciate their effort in putting up a post. Sure, that has the subtext that I hope that person notices my post as well. That they comment and share their thoughts, not just blindly vote, but I don't obligate anyone to do so.

I really still don't get why people are stingy with their upvotes. It doesn't cost anyone anything, and they're not losing any money from replying to comments. If they don't like a post, okay sure, by all means don't vote for it.

I like your backscratching analogy, it really drives home the current climate. I really hope this changes for the better, or else risk Steemit going down the path of other social networks.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for the upvote! I hope that you enjoyed reading, and I really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51