You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The mute feature. Does it fix anything?

in #steemit7 years ago

I've used the mute button a few times. I'm not here for the trolls, so when one rears its ugly head, the mute button becomes my way of removing them from my Steemit experience. My only gripe is that I wish it made me invisible to them just as it does the reverse. Facebook has this feature down, I think. When one person blocks another, they're both invisible to each other, even if one specifically tries going to the other's profile.

Sort:  

Yes, trolls are an important reason for the mute. Honestly, once they are muted I don't care if they can see me or not. I don't believe I should be able to control what they see. I simply don't want to interact with them.

I make damned sure they are a troll and not sure they are simply disagreeing with me before I reach for the mute. Even then they have to be calling me names, belittling me, and ad hominem attacking for me to say "Okay this person is going to be a time sink and will waste a ton of my time if I keep seeing their posts and being tempted to respond".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51