You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've powered down 3 times since I joined in July 2016. There will not be a 4th.

in #steemit6 years ago

There are people powering down all the time. It's a personal choice as to why, but for me it was due to necessities in my own life. Now that I've got those necessities taken care of by other means, I'm turning Steemit into my hobby, rather than my "job". Steemit isn't a job. At least, it can't be for someone like me.

Sort:  

Yes, i got your point. Well, for some people Steemit can be a job, at least part of the job. It depends from myriad, mainly individual conditions and circumstances. What i had in mind was rather the fact that some can take number of people powering down as a evidence of trust, or lack thereof, in Steemit in general.

Hell no, take it as a sign of greed. When the cash cow is low they reinvest in other places or cash out. Those are not the community members those are the crypto farmers and spammers mostly.

Ah, ok. But the point is, that apart from obvious ups and downs of entire crypto space, success of Steemit depends also from synergy and size of the community. Especially given the fact that there are still not so many people here.

There are more than 3x's the number of people from when I started and a lot of my support comes from those who were here before me and I continue to find more users to support.

The problem is people see Steemit as a fast money making pyramid based off of some of the worst Steemit users on Youtube and come here expecting easy money. They don't understand those users bought their payouts and never voted for anyone who couldn't return a vote. Any new user joining now has to understand that Steemit is a hold game, if they understand that there is no way they can be unhappy or want to leave.

The money will come to any new quality users who put honest work into the system. Just power up and stick around.

Totally. I feel I need to avoid paying attention to whether or not others are powering down - especially since it takes 13 weeks to do, in which case it should be thought through before doing it. It's not something one can do in a panic, I don't think. I feel there will always generally be enough trust in Steem to keep at it, despite the powering down of others. As for myself, my personal situation called for it because, well, I needed the money. I've come to terms with the fact that when I think about the actions of others in this space, it's all speculation and I should just stick to my intentions. Otherwise I'm inadvertently allowing others to influence my decisions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95