I want to be able to mute tags.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Seriously, there are many topics I don't care to constantly see as I scroll through my feed or the "new" page. I won't say which topics because that's irrelevant for the sake of this post. This is just a feature request.

Rather than have to entirely mute a user I may be following, I'd much rather just have the ability to mute specific tags so I can keep following the posts I actually enjoy from that user. And of course, since posts can have up to 4 or 5 tags, it would need to be able to mute any posts that have at least 1 muted tag, this way it doesn't end up showing up via one of the other tags that I don't have muted.

What do you guys think? What caveats could come of this?



Sort:  

Yes. There are quite a few topics I'd love to mute.

Good idea actually, it would be nice to have that option. I just wrote a post on wanting the ability to see the views per vote for each post :)

I'm sure it will get added at some point.

I've mentioned the very same thing.
I'm for it.

Good idea. I hadn't thought of it, but it would be helpful.

I have never seen this feature on any social media platform. What you can do is only follow the people that you enjoy their content. Then occasionally throughout the day, switch over to Trending or Hot. Problem solved in the interim. It is similar to building lists on Twitter.

I have never seen this feature on any social media platform.

Good, then we can have it as an exclusive Steemit feature if we're not able to have subgroups (like Subreddits).

What you can do is only follow the people that you enjoy their content. Then occasionally throughout the day, switch over to Trending or Hot. Problem solved in the interim.

Frankly, if I have to do that, I won't ever remember to do it and people will stay unfollowed. Also, the stuff I don't care to repetitively see still shows up, which I don't want at all, so this is not really a resolution at all, in fact it's barely a band-aid. This isn't a matter of follow/unfollow. I want to straight up MUTE those topics so I don't have to keep moving past them like obstacles.

There are instances here where I have users I would love to follow because I DO enjoy some of their content, and I even interact with them on their posts. But then those same users may have content I would just rather avoid all together. I don't want to unfollow or mute that person, just those topics.
This should absolutely be an option.

I have never seen this feature on any social media platform.

Actually, I bet you have, but it's not really a "mute" function so much as a subscription issue. On reddit, for example, you can subscribe to subreddits. "Muting" them in the case of reddit simply involves unsubscribing, or not subscribing in the first place.
Subscribing/unsubscribing, muting/unmuting, and following/unfollowing topics is currently not an option at all on Steemit. By default, we're subscribed to EVERYTHING without choice aside from the ability to just totally mute a user. To me, that's bad. If I want to avoid any/all posts about sports (I don't, just an example), I don't want to have to mute every user who posts about sports because A) that would incredibly tedious, and B) knowing that most users who do post about sports don't post ONLY about sports, so muting them would be a greater loss than simply muting the sports tag.

Steemit is over 99% garbage. Clickbate, asskissing, fashion,... Its unbearable at the moment. There is no interesting content on it. Just people telling others what they want to hear to get money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69