Steemit Magnet has a New Home

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks to @tecnosgirl I've got a shiny new Steemit magnet.

I won it last month. Tecnosgirl and I were both participating in the 7 Day Black and White Photo Challenge that was making the rounds back then, and I left a comment on her soothing landscape picture where I mentioned it looked like the site of the house she's had delivered.

Apparently those were the magic words to unlock a secret contest, and the prize was sent forthwith.

Close.jpg

We're not the best at keeping up with the old post office box (it's a few towns away - long story) so it wasn't until this afternoon that The Wife came home with a big stack of mail and said, "That's weird. There's something for you."

I'll probably move it to the bumper of the car eventually, so it can do its work as a conversation starter and publicity tool. But for now I think it looks quite sharp on my 1940s Cole-Steel filing cabinet, close to My Lady Nicotine and the pipe tobacco supply.

Mid.jpg

This was a fun little interaction. It's always satisfying to receive something in the mail other than the bills and official notices we usually get, and to remember that, behind the avatars and the personalities we interact with through our screens, there are real people in real places out there, and most of them are kind, generous, and fun.

Full.jpg

@tecnosgirl keeps a great blog, by the way. She's very active on here (in addition to raising kids and arguing with contractors on the construction of her new house - with reserves of energy that leave me frankly jealous.) Give her a read and a follow!

Sort:  

I like your Lady Nicotine. Really adds something to the classic cabinet. That is one of the things that is enjoyable to see about Steemit, (not Lady N., sorry)....but the way folks send one another things related to what is going on. It does bring the community together quite a bit, as folks get to know one another better on here. I'll be curious to see how often you get asked about it, when it's on the bumper.

I am sorry I haven't been by to see this, I came searching though when you made the comment, I been so busy I haven't had time to follow up like I normally would. Looks good underneath your pipes. Lady Nicotine you say looks to me like a Brats doll lol

Thanks for taking the time to track it down!

Yeah @donnadavisart picked up the doll so she could have a cheap reticulated figure to sketch from. I think she's actually supposed to be Snow White's daughter or something.

I'm not sure how I ended up with her but she doesn't complain about the smoke at least!

So it is suppose to be Emma Swan

That's one fun and eclectic display you've go there! That pipe on the far right in the display rack has a really cool shape.
Those pipes are all handmade, aren't they?

Aaand... the new post is up!

Yes - pipes are all more or less handmade. There's still power tools involved, of course, and some manufacturers have lathes set up with a system to cut standardized shapes (I think it works something like cutting a key) but ultimately they have to be made one at a time, stems fitted, sanded and polished, ect.

That pipe on the right is sitting backwards because that's the only way it'll fit on the rack. But it's a unique meerschaum piece fitted with silver. Maybe I'll write tomorrow's post on it - kind of an interesting story behind it (measured by modest values of interesting).

I would love to receive that! I love Steemit and anything related! :)

Give @tecnosgirl's blog a read and see if she's running any more contests. She may still have some inventory.

waooww !! what a unique blog for steemit family <3 keep intouchand do more <3 i wanna see more in future <3 now i am following you

good post friend, follow me and I follow you. I invite you to stop by my blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69