The Daily Dribble

in #steemit7 years ago

021.jpg

This picture was shortly after I rescued this little pug from the humane society. He'd already been there almost 2 months because his owners abused him so badly and left him and their two cats to fend for themselves. While the cats could eat their food on top of the washer, this little guy was starving and lost most of his hair from the mid chest on back. Police finally intervened 2 weeks after their owners abandoned them. I just happened to stop in the day he was put up for adoption, instantly fell in love and brought him home. He's been with me for 7 years now and the best buddy I could have ever had!

This is one of my favorite pics because it looks like he's ready for the apocalypse, gas mask and all LOL. When I was recovering from illness a year, he stayed right on the couch with me, snoring and all. I really wasn't sure how to take care of a dog in the northern midwest where winters can get -20 and summers are humid. But, we both adapted and he does fine. Being black is a challenge for him, and of course I watch him closely so his wind pipe doesn't swell when it's hot. Although, in the winter I have to shovel a path so he can quickly do his job. He just looks at me and says "really?" and we both wonder why we keep living here lol.

A little while ago I came across an instagram called 'bubblebeccapugs' which is an awesome bunch of postings from a lady in the UK that rescues pugs and will take care of them. I think she has over 30 now, but look her up. They will melt you heart. I only wish my little guy could meet them, I know he'd think he went to heaven LOL.

Here he is now, sweet as ever and doing very well. His name is Pluto. Adoption does work out! Please, if you can, help support your local animal shelter. Small things go a very long ways to help find them.
Pluto2.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome job man HUGE respects for you and what you did ! Really cute pug two ! :) That made my day.

Thanks! He's just turned 8 now. I usually tell him not to worry about his nose, it just means he can get closer to the window LOL... He's a great watch dog too, from a dead sleep to instant awake.

Great post amigo...my uncle in Italy has a pug and loves him.
Yes dogs have an uncanny sense of loyalty when we are down, my dogs have always been me best support in times of need

You are man with a big heart. Thanks for sharing! Chris:)

Man and nature are one. The world is beautiful as a fairy tale.

My husband and I are casually looking for another dog to add to our homestead. It's a bit off as a friend and his dog stays with us right now. In any case, my dog, we got him from a couple that had it up for "free". Once we decided to take him (which was immediately) they asked for $80. Which was whatever to us, worth it. This poor dog came up to me and didn't even leave my side when the owners called to him. That was the end of that. After a month or two with us it was apparent that he was abused. I had people ask me if he did such and such bad behavior still. To their surprise, he's never done anything like that with us. He's a great dog. It's inconceivable to me how people could do such things to these guys. Especially when they're WONDERFUL!

I'm happy that you've save a pup! I hope to save an older and wiser dog when the time comes. I want to give them the best golden years of life on a farmstead!

Very glad you were able to give your dog a decent home! I used to have a black lab when I was younger, but there's just no room for one where I live now, they need to run. Didn't think I'd really ever have another animal, but sure am glad I met mine. In his case, his previous owners were drug dealers and went to prison. I ran into the neighbor who told me what had happened. You're right, I don't understand why people do such things to innocent animals and humans alike. I really prefer to think there are more people like us than the media portrays, but all you hear is the bad stuff, guess it sells, so I don't listen to them LOL... thanks for the comment

People like to complain more than praise, that's for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54864.63
ETH 2298.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30