I'm All About The Money Now

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

my face  - Copy.jpg

I came to Steemit for three reasons.
- Raise money for the Feathers Tale Children's Villiage in Tanzania
- Put my thoughts and interests in a place where they could not be taken down
- Hold Steem and Bitcoin
I placed a $4,000.00 bet on Steem and anything I make over that whether through price increase or participation will go to the charity when I feel the time is right. I understand the value of building Steempower.

What I've since learned, because of much tech ignorance on my part, is that our posts are not forever. I wanted my children and granddaughter to be able to have a place to see what I was up to when they are 70 years old. Big disappointment for me. I still want to hold Steem and raise money for Feather's Tale Children's Villiage but I've decided not to give as much time to Steemit as I have been and I must admit half of my time has been learning how to use computers, software, cameras, and files. And I know just enough to get myself into trouble.

The time required sitting at my desk is not good for me or any of us. With summer coming and I have been basically out of pain for about 3 months I need to keep moving now that I can. I still plan on posting about drumming but I'm thinking about going to one photo/one line Partiko entries just so I can vote for myself more often. Twelve cents buys a lot in Tanzania; a full day of food, medical, schooling, and clothes for one child. I'm all about the money.

I've enjoyed immensely the quality posted here. I did not expect such amazing photography but @dswigle, @tatoojay, @old-guy-photos @denmarkguy, and others have shown me differently. I have been blown away on most days. The intelligence and depth of @soyrosa, @steemmatt, @tarazkp writings are thought-provoking and positive and many times funny like I might be if I give more time...maybe later. I feel like I am in good hands with their lead. The depth of intelligence, caring, and openness from everyone I will still enjoy, I don't plan on leaving totally just cutting back and doing more short posts.

Anyway, that's my thought today. Am I missing something?

Sort:  

If you are having problems in going back to your earlier posts, it makes it feel as if they are no longer available.

If you are already using SteemWorld, check under the heading "Posts" You can choose to go back by 30 or even 100 posts per click. Give that addy to your grandchildren
:))

As for the blockchain dying - if it does, it will be because something better came up. However, it is also likely that whatever is on blockchain will be copied to the new system.

Otherwise, only a major war that knocks out the computers all over the world can guarantee you lose your steemit memories

btw - I was born and grew up in East Africa. Of them all (Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda), I would say that the people of Tanzania are the nicest...but their officials are just as corrupt as those of any other African country.

TANZANIA I understand the corruption AND witchdoctors John St.Julien and the children face daily in Tanzania. His video's show his work. I am going to do a Steemit series on his life.
https://www.youtube.com/user/johnst1111/videos
https://www.facebook.com/Featherstale/

PROBLEM I'm not having a problem. It was dissapointing to learn that it takes storage and Steemit doesn't have a lot but it's possible even YouTube won't have enough for my posts.
https://steemit.com/witness-update/@quochuy/your-previous-d-tube-videos-don-t-play-anymore-how-to-prevent-this-from-happening-again-without-technical-skills

STEEMWORLD I think @ steemchiller is great.

BLOCKCHAIN I like that optimistic attitude and it makes sense.

Interesting to read your thoughts and about your $4000 investment.

I imagine that with the skills you’ve learned that as time goes by it will take less and less time to post.

I’m not sure why you think that your post aren’t there indefinitely. Am I missing something? My first ones from 3 years ago are still there.

As far as Steem Power goes you’re right. I notice that you don’t self vote. Is that based on principal. I look at it as
A return on your investment.

All the best to you drum lady!

Thank you for the well wishes.

I'm planning that the posting will get easier but I did have hopes in the beginning to make my vidoes more interesting with the tools on my software...maybe later.

Storage seems to be the issue for keeping videos for very long periods of time.
https://steemit.com/witness-update/@quochuy/your-previous-d-tube-videos-don-t-play-anymore-how-to-prevent-this-from-happening-again-without-technical-skills

I do vote for myself. I didn't vote on my last post until this morning when my steem was up.

Thank you for your suggestions and interests.

I'll be on the lookout for your next challenge.

If you have a knack for photography as the seasons change, that could be a nice niche for you where you're out taking shots and spending only a few minutes editing/posting later on so you can still grow your stake for good. I know the feeling you're talking about... I'm worn down from it, but you're smart to draw the line early on!!

P.S. I didn't say this, but get on your son for not voting your posts enough to help you and that charity!!!

That's how I see it too, taking photos and putting a thought or comment to it. I will still do like I have been doing but add a few really short post too.

Let us work on getting your curation right so you can raise more money for the charity. It's late here now, but let me know when you are ready and we can get it done. I will spend time having a look how we can get you some more rewards. By doing this you can spend a little less time yet still be earning a decent return.

I'm assuming/hoping that this will be curating content creators, not bid-bot delegation.

Absolutely. I promised @willowwisp I would help her last week just to work out the timings for some of her followers. I don't want to go hunting for new users to follow as that isn't what this is about.

Timing? I'm listening or is there someplace I can read about it?

Before the last hard fork the timings for curation were 15 minutes and after up until around 30 minutes.Today on the current set up it was thought the sweet spot was at 15 minutes. That is wrong as it is around the 11/12 minute mark. I don't know if you autovote or not, but would suggest at least putting a few regulars on. This would make sure you are getting better rewards than you are currently. You can compare on steemworld what you are currently getting against your new rewards and fiddle around . It does make quite a bit of difference by the end of the week and you should be able to double at least.

Thank you. I could put my two children on auto vote.

Why the hurry to vote?

The timings are what makes the curation. Users vary and you will see the difference in the curation.

"Users vary"? Do you mean readers?

The posts you vote on for instance we both like Taraz. He is less than most and you need to be around 10 minutes.

I have just recently stumbled onto your posts. You have done a good reflection on the situation. Your decision is very sound and reasonable! I was thinking along this line myself this past week!
About keeping one’s posts living forever including the uncertainty of Steem in the medium term.

Good luck to all your endeavors!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, I appreciate that.

I agree with you on a lot of things there and the most important is your health otherwise you can't help anyone else and i truly wish you luck with all of that i will be cutting down myself cause as you know sitting down to long does a lot of harm to your body :)

Best wishes in you project/movement.

Hope all goes well for you and those you care for..

@willowwisp You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Steem is a good place to earn wile growth!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58