The Future of Medicine

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Today I taught a class, it was my first time ever being on that side of the blackboard.
I got verbose and as a result, @alechahn recorded hours footage.
However since I am still fighting a severe headcold, that footage is currently being edited.

I will upload segments of it to youtube over the weekend.

As I sit here now, writing this post, I realize that these young students are the same age as my oldest kids.

Yet despite their young age, the entire group was just incredibly impressive!

This is especially true considering the subject matter was literally, "The Future of Medicine" where I spoke in my native language, English and found myself using very technical terms.
Yet one of the students even volunteered her services as interpreter.

I was doubly impressed by this. She caught on so quick! And despite my rapid fire speaking style, she repeated basically verbatim, everything I said in Spanish. She even waited patiently for me to finish, what at one point was 15 minutes of continuous thought! Then said the same thing concept for concept!

Needless to say, I've given her the task of being the "voice of the group" and introducing the students.
Her name is Hilary and she will be blogging here as @hilpollo
If you want to know what the future of medicine is like

Follow @hilpollo and her class.

My role as an educator is over now. I hope I did alright.
At the end of class I concluded by registering all the students present today to steemit.
More will follow.

Since this was my class to teach, I gave the assignment to go home and blog about themselves over the weekend. You will be seeing them pouring in, please make sure to give them a warm welcome.

I didn't give them much prompting or training on steemit, because this really is something unique in the world and I want to watch them learn and explore.

@hilpollo will be doing the introductions and I'm sure Dr Padilla will be blogging about them as well.
But I just wanted to be the first to show you what the future of medicine looks like.
It's very bright!

Sort:  

Awesome! We need more medical brains on here so this should be great. It takes a lot of guts to get up and teach so go "you!". If I see their posts I will give my upvote.

Thanks! Also make sure to ask questions and engage them in conversation. Part of the point of this is to acclimate the students to the idea that learning and sharing should be an open experience.

very interesting concept. I read their introductory posts and upvoted. This will be fun to watch. Vamos a ver

Love what you are doing here. Saw this after first payout, still upvoted.

Wow @smooth thanks!
So this is the first cadre of the students in Dr Padilla's class for this semester.

If this works well then we will be talking with the local colleges to integrate social media via steemit into the curriculum.

Obviously it won't work for every degree, like @lemouth was saying there are some courses where it doesn't make sense.

But I was thinking, imagine if most classes had a "post your work to steemit" just as a matter of course. The hook here being that it's a great way to check for plagiarism, academic authenticity, and at least in theory the upvote slider makes an easy way to mark a permanent grade. Not only in the eyes of a single teacher but in the eyes of the community.

This will be the topic of my next blog but I wanted to run the concept by you and some of the other whales first. I know we set out to make it the next Facebook. But what if we evolved to encourage more of this? Not just medicine but pretty much any topic of higher learning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85