STEEMBUX is here!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Ever wish you had a mobile wallet for your steem dollars?
None of the social media stuff, just a stand alone wallet for sending and receiving steem dollars with a clean, quick and easy to use interface?

The wait is over! Steembux has you covered!!!

As you can see from the screenshots, this isn't anything fancy. In fact, it's just the quickest, slickest, easiest to use wallet we could possibly make. And with the #blocktrades integration option, you can use it as a bitcoin or litecoin wallet as well!

It's super simple and intuitive to use!
The whole UI is just swipe left or right to move, like a deck of cards!

Since it's all completely open source (GPLv3) and 100% client side code running in the webview / browser, you could use it as the basis of your own steem dollar based webwallet or plugin. It's based on @svk's steem-js lib so I want to take a moment and give a shout out to @svk for helping me sort out the issues needed to make this thing work. By the way, his lib compiles on windows now :)

In the meantime, if you don't feel like compiling your own copy, this same wallet is being submitted to google play and iTunes. That version will allow you to buy steem dollars directly in wallet using the in app purchase API.
At the request of @smooth we'll also be releasing a lightweight desktop version based on electron this week as well.

Have fun with your Steembux!

Sort:  

This is cool! Now for the noob question, could I import bitcoin directly to this wallet and transfer it to steem, using shapeshift or something? Will the steem appear instantly in my account on Steemit?

The answer to that question is "Yes, absolutely!", but you do need to do a few things to make it work.

Ok so look at the screen shot on the far right hand side where the QR code is. That drop down allows you to set a currency. If you select receive (right next to the send button) and bitcoin, then the QR code and payment address switch to an @blocktrades generated address all setup to send SBD to your wallet for whatever bitcoins you get at that address. So yes like shapeshift but using the API from our good friends at blocktrades.us .

I don't know if that's a persistent address though, so we may want to ask @blocktrades about the lifespan of those generated addresses.

It's important to note that our blocktrades integration is experimental right now. I don't have enough bitcoin to test that thoroughly, so you have to enable blocktrades API explicitly in the settings before the dropdown will populate with altcoins. The default on that particular feature is "disable" until we can get more testers on it. It's not that anything is wrong with it, it's just that I haven't tested it enough to feel comfortable with it on by default.

I really appreciate the help, but the feeling I get when I read this is "OMG this is too complicated, I will manage to fuck this up somehow!"

I'll shoot a usage video soon with @alechahn walking you through it. But really you just put in the amount, select the currency you're expecting and it generates a deposit address you give to whomever you're expecting to deposit.

When they send whatever to that address then it is converted to steem dollars for you and deposited to your steem account.

I'm working to get it in fdroid actually. That's the only other app store besides google play I really trust.
In the meantime, you can install ionic viewer and as soon as my push is over here, I'll post the app id so you can play with it.

Great work putting everything together!!

Thank you so much! It was a lot more involved than I had originally anticipated. Fortunately I have no social life and a long suffering spouse :D

thank you very much excellent information

Sweet! This is going to be a great little extra for all those shops you have been signing up to Steemit recently @williambanks ! Great job!

Yep that was actually a primary reason for making it. Thanks for all your help on this one BTW!

Great, I like that, simple and to the point.
Valued and resteemed!

This is really cool. Looking forward to the google play and itunes versions. The ability to buy SVD directly would be great. Will we be able to buy steem directly too?

Well up until about 5 minutes ago the answer to that was no. But @smooth just explained something in another thread that made me realize I'm coming at this sideways. I've been all about the SBD but not considering that it's a debt instrument.

So what I'll do is move it over to steem directly and give a "lock in" option that lets them convert from steem to steem dollars. That's going to require a refactor, but I'll make it part of Havin and Steembux.

Think I'll also add the option to power up from the wallet, since that's kind of vital too.

I should clarify. I have a master plan here and it involves pushing steem back to at least dollar parity again. That's why the steembux wallet, and havin and why I'm actively courting investors and users.

Awesome! That's what I wanted to hear. And the power up option would be great. Thanks for doing this.

You're welcome and thanks for the encouragement and feedback!

I just thought of a feature that might be good to include in your game Havin. And maybe you're doing this already. But it would be really cool to include the ability to power up and then offer rewards such as store discounts for customers who power up, and some kind of priority advertising for merchants who power up. This would both be beneficial for those who use the app, as well as for the price of Steem. What do you think?

I think that's a great idea! Thanks!

I replied over there. SBD is important not only as a debt instrument (fixed income) for investors but for commerce (stable value). So if the wallet is intended for commerce/retail then primarily featuring SBD makes sense (though STEEM can also be accessible). If it is intended mostly for Steem platform users/investors then it might make sense to feature STEEM (along with options for controlling powerup/powerdown, etc.)

Thanks for that. It's really meant for merchants mostly. But these are small business / tienda owners. They don't want the distraction of the social media aspects while trying to serve customers, but need a quick way to accept or send steem & steem backed dollars.

[Replying to lower comment due to nesting]

Interesting points about Havin being curation. I hadn't thought about that. I would guess by now you have a good idea of my thoughts on the role of the different tokens, and you can best decide what works for your product and marketing.

Given that I think SBD is the better fit. Even powering up you will lose value if you don't participate in curation. That's kind of sad in a way, I would prefer if there were a vehicle for people like your merchant customers to decide they like the service that the blockchain provides and invest in it (as a risky stock-like investment) without getting involved with the social media component, but there isn't.

Well actually, the Havin project is technically curation for the merchants since they are upvoting customers that come in. In fact it's the ability to advertise on the platform and then reward both new and existing customers that's so attractive about the project.

This is just the wallet from Havin, isolated and standalone.

All i need now is an easier way to cash out, would like to do it once. well done on your hard work :P

Thank you and yeah an easier way to cash out is on my road map for this too. Just can't talk about it too much right now. Will make a posting in a few days though.

That cheers me up, I'll keep a look out thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44