You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Increasing Demand for Steem Power with STATUS

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm with you on this beanz. Great thinking!
We had ads already though, that's what promotions are for. You burn SBD and gain some brownie points with the promo crew who are supposed to be upvoting. Except they seem to have forgotten to do that lately, so most people who promote never earn back anywhere near what they spend on promotions.

Sort:  

Yes the promote feature is one kind, and I'd prefer not to have traditional advertising I'm just not ruling it out as I've never heard ned or dan rule it out.

Yeah I've noticed a lot of them don't do that well. Honestly, we take a risk when we use promote and I have a feeling they have their own individual systems of seeking out content that they prefer to stick to.

I have a rule when I promote - if after an hour or 2 I feel if it were noticed by a whale they would up vote it, I calculate how much SBD it appears I've made so far before using that to promote. That usually means using less than 30c... But I figure the market price for promoting is too high still and I'm not prepared to compete, especially when they haven't benefited from the gamble.

Thanks again @williambanks :)

Yes promotion is a complete cash burn for minnows and dolphins. It's really there as a way of luring commercially promoted content to the platform since it's supposedly going to give them massive exposure.

Yes, I imagine that will be their source of advertising revenue. Those with the most steem get paid the most for their attention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13