I'm getting a haircut and shave, thanks to steempower!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I just wanted to take a moment and introduce you to @barbersspa the official account for the master franchisee of
"The Barber's Spa" for Mexico.

It will be managed in spanish by Rodrigo Obrador the owner and official franchisee.

This guy is awesome!

So let me tell you what happened...

I knew I was going to be video taped tomorrow as part of an educational series I'm working on with Dr Padilla @imaxess.
I needed to look my best, but I had been lazy with the razor the past few weeks and let my beard grow to steel wool levels again.

Something you need to understand about me, I am known as "Steel Beard" to every barber I have ever met.
Shaving my beard requires special equipment, your run of the mill walmart razors die before they ever finish the first pass.

When it gets as bad as it did, I have a pair of "Wahl" heavy duty electric animal shears I can fall back on.
Ask anyone who knows me, this is god's honest truth, I have animal shears because people shears won't cut it.

Anyways I went home, got about 10% of the way done with the shave and the shears broke!

Not knowing what to do, I ran back to Imaxess to ask if there was a good place locally that might be able to help.
Some place that can do a proper straight razor shave since nothing else seems to work anymore.

They sent me to "The Barber's Spa", where I first met Isaac...

You will be seeing much more of this guy!

Isaac is an incredible barber, and his English is better than mine. I explained that we will be doing a video shoot tomorrow for part of an ad campaign some of which will be on TV and that I needed to look my best.

He immediately set to work doing some sort of barbershop voodoo which included a straight razor. He mentioned that it took 3 separate brand new blades to get it all. While all of this was going on, he started asking what I do. I explained what I do and started talking about steemit and showing him some of the posts I've done.

He told me that this place was a local franchise and that they have locations around the globe, but this is the first in baja and they are expanding more into mexico in general. He also mentioned that they keep a regular social media presence of facebook. So I asked him about bringing his social media presence over to steemit.

The master franchise owner happened to be visiting this local franchise. We all got to talking about steemit and it's potential both for advertising and outreach. He's super excited and will be blogging the spanish version personally, while Isaac will be blogging the English version.

Isaac is a good looking guy with excellent poise and we're going to have him shoot some steemit tutorials for both North America and Latin America as he gets more confident with the platform.

I decided to splurge since they had graciously decided to accept SBD.

They wanted SBD in order to promote their business on steemit.

I got the works, haircut, shave, some sort of apple tea on my eyes that felt awesome and actually sucked out the dark circles around my eyes. A hot towel thing and a lot more stuff. All told I spent $40 SBD for the works!

Guys, this is the ultimate "old school barbershop" for men. Women are allowed of course, but this place is all about making big hairy guys like myself look respectable and presentable. So you don't find women's magazine, or nail care products or the latest in women's hair fashion accessories. You get a haircut and shave done the right way, and the only other products that they sell are meant for men.

Women, if you want to get your SO a present he'll really love, you should order a "works package". It sounds goofy, but I haven't felt this great in awhile and frankly I forgot what I looked like without those damned dark bags under my eyes. I dunno what's in it, but it works!

No matter where you are I highly encourage you to check them out, but at the moment only the TJ franchise is setup for SBD. The rest of the franchises in mexico will be coming online and they will talk to corporate and see about bringing the entire thing into steemit.

In the meantime though, thanks to everyone that upvoted my posts and helped me to earn enough SBD to treat myself to a full men's spa treatment, I really needed that!

It's almost cliche, but I look in the mirror and this is how I looked 10 years ago...
Follow @barbersspa for some steemit exclusives.

They've made an introductory post, please stop by and comment so they know people are seeing them...
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@barbersspa/the-barbers-spa-tijuana

Thanks!

Sort:  

Really good post.. Good luck

I've had a haircut and a beard trim. However as per tradition, I've had it trimmed right off. Perhaps it is something, that I should post about. 8)

Yeah my point wasn't the haircut and trim although I have to admit they were excellent.
It's that a new business is accepting SBD and they are a nationwide franchise.

That's great! I just took my friend to lunch today from Steemit earnings.
He calls it my imaginary money. One bite of that steak shut him up.

Lol, I remember taking a group of 10 people to the fanciest steakhouse in town.
Let them order anything they wanted.

Bill came out to $590 total. I asked the manager to give me his bitcoin address
Gave him 3/4ths a bitcoin and told him he could keep the change.
I prearranged this with the manager and had set him up with an account at MtGox

My friends shut up about bitcoin at that point. Especially when I told them I had mined it a year or two before at home on my gaming rig. (this was a few years ago).

I'm guessing steemit will do the same.

I think I need a barber. I've been trying to grow a beard myself and every time I try to trim it myself I mess it up and have to shave it off and start again.

Thanks! I think I love onboarding new businesses into the steemit ecosystem more than any job I've had so far.

Thanks for letting me know it existed! This is really cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68928.98
ETH 2500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54