You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curator's Slider - Steemit development

in #steemit7 years ago

An interesting idea. Selling votes is a secondary market that developed naturally based on the incentive of "easy money." There is nothing we can do to stop it - even though we don't like how it's being done.

Though it can't be prevented, we can try to find ways to remove the incentive to sell votes. Your proposal might be one good way to do that, but I really need to give it some more thought.

Just so I understand you, the idea is that I set the slider when I vote and I decide how much the reward is split. Are we talking about using this to replace the current time-based split or would this be in addition to that system where I am spliting my portion of the split?

Sort:  

actually replacing the whole voting system with a simple quality oriented system would fix many thing, when somebody reads a post, neither the time nor amount of the votes it already has should effect the amount he/she wants to reward the author.
with the current rules, we are missing lots of votes because our posts lose their appeal after each vote they receive.

This is something I am unsure of at the moment and why I didn't mention the time split. Perhaps the voting time could be reduced to maybe 5 minutes so it will stop the spammers but won't make the bigger voters wait. I am not much of a curator myself though I am trying to learn to be better at it slowly.

I am unsure how the technical application of the early voter gets integrated yet but I am quite sure there is a way to maintain the incentive to be able to find decent content early.