Minnows: You Never Walk Alone

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steem.jpg

I am sure many Minnows like me would have seen various posts on how to be successful in Steemit, so rather to repeat what many had already said, I prefer to say this is my testimony of how us Minnows will Never Walk Alone in Steemit and attest to what they say is indeed true.

I am sure when a newbie first joined, he/she will be all pumped and raring to go.
pumped up.jpg
I mean the truth is most of us heard Steemit as a social media platform that rewards you. Who doesn’t want to be rewarded just by posting !!! It sounds an easy money earning concept. How hard can it be right ??

Start of the Race:

Chances are most of the Minnows would dive in and do their first posting without doing some homework. First post has to be introduceyourself And I learnt this from @shayne. Cause what is the point of posting if no one knows who you are. And I did my first 30 followers from my introduceyourself post.

Do read it - https://steemit.com/steemit/@shayne/beginners-guide-to-getting-started-with-steemit-by-shayne-or-or-1-the-introduceyourself-or-introduction-post

Hitting the Brick Wall:

I wouldn’t blame most Minnows who like me would have tried posting our own articles since we all hope to get the community to acknowledged our posts. Cause we all want to have our post that rewards us by the hundreds or thousands. But chances are most of our posts will probably earned like few cents each. And i did waver a little. For that moment, I did ask myself if Steemit is really for me.
dejected.jpg
And chances are if you still preserved, then congratulations you would have made a big step to your Steemit journey. But perseverance is not enough.

One must understand the Steemit hierarchy structure to able to do well. cause different hierarchy requires doing different things to succeed and move on to the next level. I only truly understand the this after reading @aggroed post. There are also many other posts that talks about the hierarchy structure but for me this was the easiest to understand.

Do read it for those Minnows who are still searching for direction in Steemit. It will guide you in the right direction - https://steemit.com/howto/@aggroed/steemit-tips-highest-value-activities-you-can-do-as-your-reach-different-stages-on-steemit#@whatsupz/re-aggroed-steemit-tips-highest-value-activities-you-can-do-as-your-reach-different-stages-on-steemit-20170612t002157093z

Finding Support in Steemit:

It took me a while to understand the need for minnows to find support. And I started by learning about the minnowsupportproject started by @aggroed. I also joined another group started by @fatpandadesign.

Just to clarify that I am not promoting for anyone but to state efforts from various Steemians that took me this far. There are many more groups out there to support minnows but this is the 2 that got me to understand the importance of needing support.

Hats off to all those who are helping Minnows collectively to grow, trying to shorten the learning curve for all minnows to minimise us from hitting the brick wall too often which they have experienced. So, for all minnows, join a support group. This is the best move I have made in my Steemit journey. But of course, the caveat is that the post has to be of a certain quality in order for people to upvote you.

Light at the end of the tunnel:

For myself, to my surprise, I found a recent post of mine breaking the dollar mark and hitting $4.45 with the help of the support groups. Most might think this is a small amount, but for me it is a breakthrough and encouragement to myself that I am moving in the right direction.

Moral of the Story

My simple message to all Minnows as nicely said it by the anthem of the soccer/football club, Liverpool FC, “You Never Walk Alone”. Help is always available so just asked. But do not assume that things will come to you automatically which many posts in Steemit has highlighted. To succeed in Steemit, time and effort is required, but help is always around the corner.
liverpool.jpg

Happy Steeming to all.

Sort:  

I appreciate the encouragement. I hope that these support groups will help us little fishies grow up to be big fishies. @ironshield

Am sure we will. We shall keep swimming and steeming.

this was a good read till i saw the Liverpool badge lol ;-)

lol i aint a liverpool supporter but felt the message was right.

phewwww! that was a close call lol

thats true as group we will succeed!

Yes we will.

I'm walking with you!

Really helpful post to get started right! Appreciate this... upvoted and following you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90