Will you vote for me? Yes or No?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When we post aren't we all asking for a vote?  Oh, I know some of you just love to write.  Some of you have a message to spread.  Some of you might be willing to admit the financial aspect of this experiment is at least part of the reason you are here.  I admit it.

In our culture begging is frowned upon, so sometimes we come up with interesting ways to pretend we are performing a service or providing a product.  Straight up asking for a vote, a follow and a resteem is bad.  Throwing some meaningless content into post and hoping for votes is acceptable.  I don't mean to poke you in the ego, I'm just saying there is a lot already out there to read on the Internet.   

Our posts are a way of presenting ourselves for the votes...  The votes are the way to distribute the Steem.  Steem is the asset we are speculating on.   It doesn't make very good marketing though. 



Come to SteemIt, where we distribute Steem in hopes at some point it will hold great value.


Isn't that exactly what we are doing?  Yes or No...  Please answer in the comments.

*it was just meant to be thought provoking, why are you really here?

#steemitblues #madeyouthink

Sort:  

Came for Whatsup art, found insightful post instead.

haha this guy. I have to agree.

Hi @whatsup
Although I enjoy steemit, I would not have started if it was not for the money, that is how steemit was sold to me, "write something and get paid", nice post.

I can't remember if I knew about the money, I "heard" privacy and censorship resistant.
Being disappointed in the privacy side after signing up via Facebook, I stayed because it is interesting and yes for the money. ;)

I'm not sure where you're going with this... In the real world, information, time and attention from people has a lot of value. For the moment, social media platforms are centralized and users don't benefit from the value that they are creating.This is the reason why people should join Steem.
Steem isn't just some magical coin that we speculate on. It is a functional cryptocurrency, which is already a lot compared to some other coins given how the blockchain technology is new.
Companies will want to pay for post promotion and advertisement, just like they do on other centralized central media platforms, but the difference is that it's the users that will be compensated. As I said, information has value; attention from people has value; that is why posts deserve upvotes, while simple begging doesn't...
"Throwing some meaningless content into post and hoping for votes is acceptable" If someone upvotes a comment/a post then that post does not have meaningless content to the upvoter! they could've upvoted anything else, including themselves, but they chose to upvote that post. There is nothing wrong with posting some content and hoping for someone to appreciate it imho.

Sometimes I just like to make awkward observations, and I don't even have an agenda. I wasn't going anywhere with it. :)

I agree there is nothing wrong with hoping for upvotes and publishing content. Am I not here with you? :)

haha I see :D well it was definitely thought provoking, which clearly was your intention I suppose

To get money. Which I've done. And realised it will never be enougb. And still staying, for the special few. Finding people who think the same (almost) priceless.

Well I think the most telling is that when you said that begging is frowned upon therefore we come up with creative ways to "dance for a dollar". We do all post for money on steemit. The less people make, the more those people leave and do something else that is gratifying in other ways. Some people would rather 100 likes than $0.01 payout. Can you blame them? Steemit has been a creative outlet for me. I make way more money creatively elsewhere, but I still strive for more monetary success on this platform. I'm conflicted at times lol

So honest, I love it. I could say the exact same thing! ;) It sometimes reminds me of the phrase... Sing for your supper.

I'm here coz I thought you were asking for support and I'm all the way gonna upvote for you in becoming a witness. :-)

But kidding aside, I'm here coz my friend encourage me to join Steemit and learn about blockchain. :-)

there is enough for everybody :) spread the love.

I think people's ego's need a "hot poker" poking, personally.

...right in the mind's eye sockets...

I admit I came here for the money, but discovered it is a place where you can say what you want, and I have pretty strong opinions on many things and it feels good to have someone to share them with. (Sometimes I tend to rant, actually). Also, being able to talk to so many people is quite fun...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43