Why there is such a thing as draining the "reward pool". (Opinion Only - Discussion)

in #steemit8 years ago

Why there is such a thing as draining the "rewards pool"

  • Each day based on the price of Steem there is a reward pool.  It is distributed, by votes across the posts that are made each day. In a complicated formula it is split between Authors and Curators.
  • The entire reward pool is distributed every day, no matter who votes
  • If there were only 1 post in a day and it received 1 vote.  Those two Steemians would split the entire reward pool divided between Author Rewards and Curation Rewards.
  • Currently, Each day we have around 1000 posts.  If 5 -10 accounts are consistently trending there are less rewards left for the "rest of the community".
  • If the same accounts, received a massive amount of the rewards pool, that leaves less for the rest

The same accounts receiving the same votes each day is a drain of the reward pool


What are the results?

  • Less diversity of content
  • Less end-users feeling rewarded and successful
  • Excellent content left unnoticed
  • A feeling of collusion and a fixed system
  • poor retention of new-users

The opposing view:  

  • It is my vote I can use it how I want
  • If you want your vote to matter purchase more SP
  • The community has spoken about the articles they want to see

These are all valid arguments, but having the discussion is not an attack.  It is just the community discussing how do we best grow SteemIt.

Bringing this up is not an attack on the accounts receiving the votes, but rather the accounts who vote on the same content day after day.  

Surely we can have more imagination, more diversity and more "winners" in the game than we currently have.

There is a reason why the question of value continues to come up in the community regarding the accounts that continue to trend.  The issue is responsible curation, the intent of curation rewards were to pay people to find, read, and promote excellent content.  

It is just a perspective to consider, it is just a discussion.  It is not an attack. Consider this perspective and discuss it.  On a personal note, for just the very act of questioning the current trending posts, I have lost votes, been threatened directly and indirectly (regarding votes, not my life or anything)  

Consider this post a thought experiment.  Use your vote how you want, it is yours to use.  





Sort:  

You could say that "draining the rewards pool" is a conclusion from this platform as a social experiment. Fortunately or no, we folks have fallen into a sort of popularity contest. To be frank, the outcome isn't all that surprising.

There have been several initiatives already to counteract this trend.

Yes, there have been. Again each time new "winners" that win day after day have risen to the top

Funny how that works out. :)

Excellent content left unnoticed

You seriously do not and can not know that. I can just as easily say that all content that gets no votes gets no votes because they suck.

People can just like other things.

True, but in turn, you don't know I am wrong. It is all subjective.

Exactly.

And your statement is factual only if we are to assume that it's objective. And since it isn't, the statement is false.

Interesting view. :) Take care.

It's okay to say you disagree with me, you don't like me, etc. I won't flag you for that. No need to say "take care".

It's done here a lot, but there's no need to be fake nice with me on here.

Flag or not flag. Nice or not nice. I disagree with you, being polite about it, is just being decent. I bet there are things we would agree on also. One disagreement does not make an enemy... In my book.

If anyone is dissatisfied with the protocols of the Steemit platform, why not start your own app, and have it operate accordingly?

Why not stay and try to influence it's development?

Bringing this up is not an attack on the accounts receiving the votes, but rather the accounts who vote on the same content day after day.

So, you don't have a problem with the content - you have a problem with people voting on that content how they see fit?

They're both the same. You can post what you want. You can vote how you want. Your issue is that you believe users ought to vote based on what you think "deserves rewards," is that right? I still don't see how this is a problem for anyone other than you. You don't get to say how others are allowed to use their stake on this platform. That's not how it works.

If there is no clear abuse, then this is nothing more than a debate about preferences. The rewards pool is not being "drained" - it is being allocated based on the stake-weighted voting system and the subjective preferences of users.

If you want to try to convince other users to vote "better," then do that. But stop implying that they're doing something wrong or abusive, or that the system is "broken." They're not and it's not. The system is working as intended. The trending page and post payouts - in and of themselves - are not an indication of abuse or a broken system. All of this hand-wringing has accomplished practically nothing.

SteemSports was a target, I was and am currently a target, and now everyone who trends - and votes for them - is and ought to be a target as well? Enough already. This isn't helping anything, especially your own reputation and potential earnings. What is the end game here, anyway?

I never used the word abuse. I never asked anyone to take any action, other than to consider a perspective. It was clearly an opinion. I didn't ask anyone to attack anyone. I didn't flag anyone. I posted an opinion.

Is there an End-game?

I am no longer concerned about my account rep or voting rewards. Check out my last posts, what do I have to lose? If you don't like my content, feel free to either flag it, or just continue to not upvote it.

I would like to upvote your content, as I had always done. But what has transpired over the past few weeks with you and others from SteemSpeak is just ridiculous. I've said what I have to say about it and I was kicked out of the channel for disagreeing with the ignorance and stubbornness. I tried to talk things through, but nobody wants to take the time to understand anything. They would rather accuse people of "abuse," "stealing rewards," "vote-buying," "harming the platform," and any number of other ignorant/meaningless complaints, and then going around flagging content that they haven't even taken the time to actually read.

So, please - go back to posting things that I feel good about upvoting and you'll get votes and rewards. The current nonsense isn't going to accomplish that. And it's unfortunate, because I always respected you and thought you were an upstanding person, but I think the cesspool that is SteemSpeak is really clouding your judgement.

I think you are an upstanding citizen as well. At this point in time, although we agree on many things, I think we just disagree on this. I will post politely about my opinion. If people can't see past one opinion I have. (even if I am wrong) I don't understand the over reaction to a discussion. Just disagree and don't vote on me. Even flag me. You don't have to call me names, lump me into categories, etc.

We could all look at the different groups we hang out in, like SteemSpeak vs. Some of the Whales that are upvoting the content and call them names, but I think everyone one of us has our own brain and lumping people into one category can be a bad thing. I remember when you were getting your warnings to "shut-up" and be silent. You didn't just quit, and you made a difference.

Sure, I didn't quit. But then again, my complaint was not about content or the trending page. It was an actual abuse that was flying under the radar of most users. The trending content issue is in our faces already. We all know about it. It's not an abuse. So where do we go from here? People are going to vote how they want to vote. What's to be done about that in this system?

Yes, people will vote how they wish to vote. Education and different views help people to make that decision.

Why is there such a huge over reaction pointing out a point of view? Look not one of them has made more than a dollar? Why are you even concerned over my POV?

Maybe you are getting too big for your britches. (wink) Nobody can disagree with you with out being publically slammed?

Really, you think everyone knows about the relationships between these accounts that are getting daily votes and the voters? Should someone disclose it? Investigate it? etc? Can you define exactly what is abuse?

I am not saying it is abuse, I am just thinking people could view this in different ways, why is my view so threatening?

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Isn't this phenomenon at least in part a direct result of bot usage? People pick authors they like (or think will get them the most reward) and then upvote those authors without even having read the posts. I'm not saying everybody uses bots in this way but I get the impression this sort of thing is fairly common.

I think it is pretty common to use bots in this way, and they are partially responsible for the situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67