SteemIt The Firehose

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I have been hearing about SteemIt as a Firehose. What does that mean? SaaF (lol)

Blue-Double-Jacket-Fire-Hose.jpg_350x350.jpg

I take that to mean that all the new front-end applications will "dump" into SteemIt. Yet, end-users will be able to use the other applications that are being built on the Steem Block Chain.

Many new applications being built only display the other posts created on that application. For example, dMania only displays post and comments which were made on dMania. dSound and Zappl also.

With that in mind, I am now wondering who is working on a Front-end application geared towards PC users versus phones?

Today I am revisiting Busy.org and it is looking pretty nice and has gone through some improvements since the last time I used it.

What are your thoughts on SteemIt as a Firehose?
What Applications are you using?
What type of applications do you wish to see in the future?

@whatsup

Sort:  

Well, I don't know if this applies, but I remember a couple years ago when new users were developing all kinds of applicable apps for this platform (most of which can be found at the steemit app center which is hosted (or linked to) by steemit.

I've been impressed by the fact that steemit has actually incorporated a lot of these devs' work into it's main framework. We're still in beta, but a lot of the interface we see today is because of freelancers of yesterday. Including steemit.chat, Dlive, Dtube, and dozens more.

I tried putting out a fire using Steem once. It actually worked pretty well.

Not for the fire, mind you, but I did have fun posting and commenting while sitting on a street corner.

I want a steem app that toasts my bread..
:P

I agree with your analogy!

I use: Zappl, Steepshot, Steemit, Dtube, Dlive

Question: Do Dtube videos actually get stored on the blockchain?

It is my understanding the Steem blockchain can only hold text.

That is what I thought.

I'm pretty sure Dtube videos aren't stored on a central server. If I'm not mistaken they use a form of bit torrent protocol or something to host videos. So they really are stored all over the place. I could be wrong about that though...

busy.org is really a good an attractive application but i still not use any application
i want an application for mobile like esteem but some good than esteem which provide all of us quickly feedings and notifications for like other apps an messangers with sound notifications which make our work on steemit more easy and good @whatsup
because to use on mobile is more better from pc if we have a good app for mobile

Oh, I haven't tried esteem yet. good mention.

ahhh esteem progress is not good there for i leaved it, but you can try its ios new version maybe this new upgraded version is some better but i also didnot try this new version

Hello Guys,

We are developing something similar of what you want :) It is not a simple mobile version of Steemit but like a brand new social media :)

Here are some screenshots of how it is looking so far:

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 11.18.11 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 11.18.03 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 11.18.20 PM.png

If you want to learn more about the ongoing project, feel free to pass to our profile :)

will this app give the notifications with sound like msgs quickly because i need an app which i use in outside easily on my mobile

Hello,

In the early stages, we will not implement notifications. However, it is included in our roadmap :) including chat, calls, video calls, push notifications :)

I don't use any of those apps for posting, because I hate the fact that everything goes to Steemit. I mean, if I'm posting memes on Dmania, I will simply fill my blog with shit posts all day long. I don't want that to happen, so I can't really use apps like Dmania or even Zappl (which is a great app). Sucks that it works this way...

@drewley was asking this earlier on as well. I am a big fan of Dtube as a disruptor and ZAPPL as a way to do quick posts. Dmania makes me laugh a bit and I am really looking forward to groups, group messaging, faster onboarding and business accounts.

Drinking from a firehose maybe? There is just so much content to consume and only so many upvotes to spend before you are tapped out so maybe that is the comparisson?

Thanks @whatsup for sharing this post with all of us. 

 SteemIt The Firehose

Well in my opinion if they display a particular content from that particular application for their own front end that would be more simplified version which has been running now without no issues that would be great as user who have interesting in some particular type of content such as meme they could find more interesting people on dmania itself without have to search a long.

Whereas Busy can be taken as an exception i don't think this will happen but still lets hope that they at-least display everything whether its a meme or a dlive live stream or a podcast on the dsound.

 What type of applications do you wish to see in the future?

Now steem blockchain covers almost every type of Application in the ecosystem i think only playing games is left hahah :) 

Thanks a lot again for sharing this

Have a great day ahead,

Cheers.  

I mostly use Busy as preferred interface to the Steem blockchain. Steemit is sometimes called upon when Busy is slow but generally I am loyal to Busy (until the next big shiny interface comes).

The steem blockchain is a firehose, or more traditionally content floodgates. I'm actually liking the different platforms I'm seeing so far, especially because most of those are created without actual SMT tech and as such many are a hack, rather than stand-alone platforms.

First, I was not aware of https://busy.org so thank you for that. To be honest though, I would love to see a more dedicated and purposeful attendance to the current steemit.com UI. Maybe that, along with further API enhancements would make what are apparently front ends for Steemit less needed. I am not saying that more choice is bad, and I may be misunderstanding or misrepresenting the entire issue though. I do the best I can with what I have in the brain department:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66