You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The power of the vote... perceptions vary...

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

When @ned and @dantheman upvoted @ats-david s first investigation, I felt better about investing in the system, because the Blockchain was working to protect "All" investors. Yes, it is a Free platform, but it is a visible platform, meaning that any abuses taking place could be published, keeping investors of all levels in check with their behavior. For now my wallet is firmly closed.

The fact that @steemed came to my page to reply to a comment on David's post also made me feel he didn't want to have the conversation on David's post and bring attention to it. Hmm, I always thought I wanted a whale comment.

Sort:  

The fact that @steemed came to my page to reply to a comment on David's post also made me feel he didn't want to have the conversation on David's post and bring attention to it.

Last time he did that, Dan gave him a taste of his own medicine. I'm not sure that he wanted to do that again. Unlike him, I'm not afraid to speak up in the face of threats and punishment. Flagging be damned! I still have my integrity.

Yeah, without the ability to cancel out the interest of others I think it can work. Yet the down vote has abilities it should not have for this to succeed. That is my opinion and until it is put to the test it seems to work in my mind to not have down votes for disagreement, or payment amount. IF we test it and it does have problems, I'd be content to move on. Yet, I know people that despise reddit. It does have a lot of users, but it also has a lot of people that will not use it. So is it what we should emulate, or should we try a new path?

Obviously, the whales are very smart people. What we are seeing right now is a gut reaction. It doesn't mean they don't think about these things after the comments, flags, etc.

I am hoping they will realize, yes, they can engage in the current activities, but ultimately it is going to impact their investment. They have more to win or lose than the rest of us.

I think we need to keep raising concerns, allow some time for them to digest the information and react.
If they hope to attract new money and new users a focus on retention is needed. If they don't they are going to watch those power downs mean less and less every week.

That is exactly made the post. Ultimately it is the whales who call the shots on this platform. This post was intended as a few of things.

  • Illustrate differences in perceptions
  • Illustrate instances where people are arguing in such a way that they become hypocrites.
  • Illustrate yet again, as I have many times how damaging the current down vote system is to perception of the platform
  • Make people realize that in an environment where money matters, voting down topics you dislike from a financial perspective is no different from censorship. The words were there, but their ability to receive rewards from people that WANTED to hear their message is cancelled by people who DON'T WANT that type of message mentioned. In a world where finances are important, they may not be able to devote the time to offer such content. Unless we get the people saying THEY SHOULD DO IT FOR FREE in an environment where others are posting easy things to post and making a lot of money. Yeah, that argument is REALLY convincing.(sarcasm)
  • Make people think
  • Make people fixated in their views possibly consider there may be something to other views.
  • Help the platform so we can grow it

I also did not name any specific whales as I don't want the whales to react in any other way than to possibly start THINKING about what is actually good for the platform rather than defending the actions of a few that does have really negative connotations for the platform.

For those taking such actions and being the ones gaming the system maybe they'll start to think of long term implications of their actions rather than the short term goals of how much they can suck out of the system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32