You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Minnow Speaks: My Open Letter to the Steemit Community... The good, bad and the ugly.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Interesting, I keep seeing so many people saying how useful they found these charts, yet, I was following it for 2 weeks before this became a popular topic and it actually rarely got more than 10 views, including mine. They were trending 3 or 4 times a day, among the other 600 Authors (1000 posts) a day who are putting out content. I really can't figure out how anyone thinks it is okay to have the few power voters of the community voting up the same content EVERY DAY. Get that... EVERY DAY more than once. Even if the posts are useful to a few people, people are arguing these charts are the most important posts out of the rest of the 1000 posts a day.. EVERY DAY? Now add the same voters voting every day for Steemsports and Steemvoter and Curie. What is left for the end-users of the platform? New Users? All of us that have been here for 5 months, we already know before we post pretty much what value our posts are going to earn.

Sort:  

You seem to miss the fact there are other ways to view post that do not trip the view counter on Steemit.

That damn thing was the worst addition ever...

seriously -- how many views in addition to the view counter views do you think a post gets... do you really think there are a ton of ppl pulling the post up on the cli and piston (or busy too i guess)

It would be a guess, but I would say many times the amount actually logged into Steemit are viewing the content.

As over 90% of my votes are cast while not logged into steemit via a browser I suspect others do the same. If you are in a habit of casting votes by other means there is not reason to risk keys in a browser.

So, it was beneficial for the voters to vote for the exact same content every day? If you were addicted to that simple chart, imagine what others could do, if their charts were given the same attention. Most people who would view it from other forums, could also create a simple chart of their own.

Personally I stopped voting for Oz once he had much stronger support than my vote. I felt my little vote was best used elsewhere.

But I did and still do find value in the various price charts that are posted for my own tech analysis, no one should be investing based solely on others opinions. Serious Investors know this and it really is pointless to have to point it out.

But, the fact that some feel they need to guide the reward pool more so than simply voting for what you like I find very disappointing. Claiming that anyone that gets more votes than you is somehow stealing from you is just whiny and childish.

None of us can vote any more share than we own, some own more than others. That's life.

Thanks for reading my ever so humble and completely correct opinion on the matter.

I read it.

You vote your conscious. You vote for what you think is right. I appreciate every vote on here whether the person has a rep score of 25, or 250, because like I said, we build it together.

.... thanks for commenting.

I stopped voting for it as well.
lol, tell me some more about serious investors.
Nobody claimed they are unhappy with someone getting more votes. To clarify, exactly what I AM saying. Is the key stakeholders voting for the same accounts every day, reduces the number of "winners" on the platform, is scammy looking, and makes the platform boring. Thus: Is short sighted. IMO.
True, none of us can vote anymore share than we have, and I like that.
You're welcome.

It will work itself out I'm sure.

Steem On!

I don't get your point, sure others could create the same thing. I often fail to see your point @whatsup but I believe you have good intentions.

For example, I seen you were flagging post that had more votes than views over the new year Holidays, yet you volunteer'd for @cryptos @robotev project and you have 4 or 5 bots following you around creating 4 or 5 extra votes for everything you vote on...

Not trying to pick a fight, honestly I am not. But I don't get why it's ok for you but not others who choose to join curation trails with their voting power..

Anyway, I still say if someone has steempower then they earned it or bought it and they should be free to do with it as they choose.

If mamafoot starts posting here and her post is crap, she still gonna get my vote :)
I don't want no trouble..

No fight required. I am fine if you don't get my point. Yes, and please vote for your wife!

I talked to you about it days ago on his post. I told you what I felt then in about 2 sentences.

I found value in them as a person learning. I said that again today here, and on his (Oz) post about all this

If you are myoptic and think this post does not address a few issues, then you are really missing the point of threading things together.

Yes, you did.
I hear you found value in them as a person learning. Understood.
I think you meant myopic. I disagree that I am the one not threading things together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49