Quality Content - That is just silly and will slow end-user growth.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I do not understand all the focus regarding "Quality Content". Steemit states they would like to become a Social Media Platform with many users. Neither FB or Twitter has ever encouraged Quality Content, excellent writing, etc. What they promote is a lot of content, community building, user-friendliness, ability to find and communicate with friends and like minded people. Adding a like feature or separate way to acknowledge you read and found something interesting might be a good idea.
Are you really going to continue to tell all the people who are coming here to partake in a new Social Media Platform they have to learn to become excellent Authors? Why? Lot's of people with a lack of polish have some interesting things to say.
I find all of the focus on quality content confusing. Want to be big? Make it interesting (which isn't always the same as Quality) Make it easy, make it friendly, and allow people to receive feedback. (such as likes or votes more often) Nobody wants to write in a quiet abyss, hoping for a whale. I know people want to make money, but at the expense of not gainning as many new users seems to limit the potential of this unbelievably awesome idea.

Sort:  

I've tried to avoid the word "quality" when it comes to content after my first week here. Original, relevent, interesting... I think those are better goals to shoot for.

What interests me my not interest anyone else. I focus on originality, in the sense that it is a person's own words or work.

Agree that is a good POV.

hey @whatsup - while I appreciate your general POV that not everyone has to write Shakespeare level stuff - you really need to fix your headline - "Quality Content - That is just silly and would"... and would what?... C'mon man, you're killin' me here! ;-)

Hey @internets, You are correct, something shiny must have caught my attention. Fixed. :)

Ah, there we go! Much better!

That was the fatal flaw of tsu.

why are you going around flagging people because of perceived "quality" then?

https://steemit.com/voting/@skeptic/why-i-think-steemit-will-die

@skeptic - Yeah, good point. My first reaction was it was spam as in selling spam, not about the value. Anyway, I rethought my actions and I disagreed with myself. :) The good news is my vote or flag can be undone very easily as my voting power is pretty much 0. :)

Thank you for calling me out. I called myself out too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63361.04
ETH 2483.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67