Are We Ready For The Masses? Scalability?

in #steemit7 years ago


Whether we are in a pump or experiencing real growth, SteemIt is getting a lot of new attention and traffic.  There definitely are some performance issues with SteemIt today.  

Having worked in Internet Technology, the ability to scale our products to more users was always a focus.  (Not my focus, but a mission critical focus)  So, my question is what are the performance limitations on a blockchain?  If we start to experience site performance issues what is the fix?  

If ABC news did a feature story on SteemIt tomorrow which resulted in Millions of users, what type of issues would we be likely to see?

Just curious..  

Sort:  

These issues are actually not the blockchain. The blockchain runs on the witnesses. Steemit itself though is just a website that VIEWS that blockchain, it does not host it. Busy.org is another window into that, and steemd.com.

The scaling issues seem to be tied to the steemit.com website which is hosted somewhere by Steemit, Inc. and has nothing to do with the speed of the blockchain.

It does look like they need to scale up their servers that host Steemit.com though.

Thank you, that is what I was curious about. Where are the "bottle necks" so to speak. Your answer was very helpful.

I have read several complaints today. I tried to hit the "Collect Rewards" blue button in the wallet twice and it went in and disappeared. It says beta but my suggestion is:

OS - 1 write only hard drive
Wallet - one write only hard drive
data - blockchain separate read write hard drive.

There are other methods such as a usb drive - don't know about speed.

No other tools or programs other than what is necessary, most probably use apache server or some such thing.

What do you think @whatsup?

I think that I just don't understand the technology well enough to know what the issues are. However, I can see we are having them.

I wish I did understand more about what things we need to focus on.

One problem is the number of users that can hook up to a server, which is what a witness is doing, serving Steemit. I think. In other words, as Steemit grows we will need more witnesses or each witness will need to run a server farm

Do you know what caused the performance issues earlier today? I am still seeing some minor issues..

Being able to scale is critical to success especially in a social media platform where the masses could join from one tv episode or tweet from a celebrity

No, I don't know what is causing the issues, but I keep getting 503 errors, and the site is painfully slow.
I am not complaining, I am just curious if we are ready for BLAST OFF.

Same here! I had a few comments that did not post.. It is a little concerning, but I am confident the team will get it straightened out. But I am not sure if we are ready right now for a major lift off yet

We are NOT ready for mass adoption.

Today's blips are the result of "only" going from about 300-400 new accounts per day to nearly 2000 yesterday.

I have seen the debacle of "sudden mass adoption" of this kind of platform, up close and personal. NOT pretty. Some years back (2012? 2013?) there was another "social media that pays" site named Bubblews... that went from a nice fairly calm community to...

.... well, the founders went on a bit of a media tour, and were on CNN, CNBC... and AP picked up the story. Suddenly, the platform went from +/- 300,000 reasonably content users to to some 1.2 million new accounts in a month. Complete mess... but NOT because the servers buckled, but because the system was completely unprepared for the fact that half the new accounts were just there to "game the system" for every penny possible.

Yes, this is why I was asking. My former company also went through a mass adoption phase. It was messy even after we spent a LOT of time planning and thinking we were ready.

If SteemIt does go big, my sense is that it will have the quick BOOM, vs. slow and steady growth. I hope people are thinking about it.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

bringing in new users can keep demand up during the pump. now whether there's enough new demand to sustain the price thru the dump...idk

I agree the site gets extremely lagy... Im sure they will make a waiting list for accounts if it gets to be to high.

I am hoping we don't have to resort to waiting lists, but yes, I guess if they have to.

I dont want it either but what are you going to do might as well let the new users suffer rather then the people that have been on board.... Ive been suggesting a minimal account balance in attempt cut down on the amount of posts that can flood the feeds. that way people can still have an account they just cant post until they buy in a little.

let the new users suffer rather then the people that have been on board

and then they leave; a better option is work out the scalability before going live. A buy in requirement also gives the image of a pyramid scheme.

I agree with you completely Id much rather see the site operate without any restrictions. However with all the transactions going on it looks difficult. I still think a "minimal account" balance to post would be a valid solution. It would give people the option to join while cutting down on site traffic.

I feel like MSM will never push cryptocurrency. It's going to come from Alt news sources.

That could be true, but I have noticed on FBN and other financial news stations they are starting to talk about the price of Bitcoin. Which is interesting.

Today for the first time I've failed to upload two posts.

Oh no! I have had some issues, but it hasn't blocked me from posting. I did lose a comment.

I would think that any performance issues are all bout 2 main things. Time and money.

The stuff needed for growth of the platform the hardware needed for all the servers, data info would be huge and with every person that comes to this community this only grows. With out serious cash you cant get the enough right people fast enough to keep up with all the changes that are required.

I think the team is doing great job and with time the money will come and all the bugs will be sorted.

get rid of flags, discourage brain bots, add FILTERS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49