Why I'm powering down

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm not going anywhere, and I still want steem to succeed, but when I saw that over 2000 steem power was worth less than $0.03 an upvote and my growth on the platform had basically plateaued, I no longer saw any point in keeping my steem locked up in steem power. I want to support you all but if all I can help is $0.03, sorry, I don't really see how staying powered up makes a difference.

The concentration of wealth here makes 2000 SP small potatoes so I no longer saw any point in keeping everything in SP. I'd rather keep my SP fluid so I can gamble a bit with other coins in case steem recovers before others do. If I can score big, I'll gladly power back up but for now, I'd rather have the fluid steem to play with.

As for my ability to upvote you, come over to whaleshares and I'll gladly hit you up with a 4 wls upvote (worth 0.24 USD at the moment) for quality content. And my weight is growing every day. The community at whaleshares is still small but I feel my ability to make a difference in others lives through my upvote is much greater which is my main reason for spending more time there. I still love everyone at steemit, hope for the best and will do my best to stay engaged.

Hopefully, one day I'll have a bigger upvote everywhere to help you buy groceries and live out your dreams with, but I'm done waiting for that day and also done complaining about everything wrong with any of these platforms unless I feel I can actually convince someone with any power.

Hope this doesn't come across as pessimistic, I'm super optimistic! Stay in touch guys, and come join us on discord!

Sort:  

Fuck I don't even care about the upvote i just wanna chat to crew. And you better not go anywhere.. I'll hunt you down. As for whaleshares... I'm lonely there. Or boring and no one wants to talk to me..

Posted using Partiko Android

I won't disappear on you! I am not messing around haha. I'll try to give you some love on wls when I am there

Powering up generates 2% interest per month.
But I feel your pain. My upvote is worth even less, but what I have chosen to do is look at things like Drug Wars, DTube, Steem Monsters and such to generate extra Steem. Plus, I delegate SP to things that have a ROI.

I use Partiko to interact with as many people as I can.

Don't give up completely though, SBD is back to a dollar and Steem is back to around US$0.41.

You can to a lot with liquid Steem though, and I find it's a better investment in other people than SP can be sometimes.

I haven't touched Whaleshares in months, but it might be time to check out what is going on over there too.

Im here to share my work, not play games... Not that there's anything wrong with playing games....perhaps if someone could tokenize an immersive rpg with a good story....

Wls has a bit less going on but it's easier to be seen, just needs an effort to interact. Let me know if you come over!

I am following you on there as Shaidon.

Sorry I’m so unlikely to jump on whaleshares 🤣 and I don’t care if upvote is worth 3c or $300 I love them all the same.

Have fun playing with all the steem you freed up 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'll just have to bring over more of you favorite people. Mwahahaha

But why to power...you can invest in other option to atleast get good roi....of self vote is less then why not get more Upvotes just by delegating.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not talking about my own earnings, I'm talking about a healthy ecosystem.

I totally get it, buddy. If I would 'need' the money myself, I would probably power down too. These days I feel my upvotes aren't worth shit, which strengthens my believe that I should focus on commenting and helping out creatives in other ways, where possible.

And nope, this doesn't sound pessimistic at all. In fact, it might be a pretty good decision ( at least for you ).

See you on whaleshares and discord! ;>)

Funny that, shortly after leaving this reply, I received the message that the repairs on my house are gonna cost me another 10k. I am seriously considering to power down here myself, even though it only covers a fraction of the repairs.

I start to feel that I am manifesting the spending of money instead of earning it, haha! Or perhaps I need to learn to spend it with ease to be able to earn it easily.

No matter what, It's quite an experience :>)

Well you are good at manifesting waves of money...a few streams would be more sustainable in the long run, I'd like it if we all could do that!

I was actually hoping steem would shoot up so I could grab some Binance but I missed it. I don't plan on using crypto for life stuff until it recovers to at least half as high as the all time highs.... I just want to buy some other crypto...I want a whole Bitcoin!

If my upvotes we're worth something (tangible) to people I'd power right back up! Until then, it's the thought that counts haha

Let's talk soon man! Don't fall off your awesome streak! You got this!

I see. Good strategy. I start to feel that I finally start to get a feel of the market. It doesn't stress me out anymore, almost start to feel like playing. If we can treat everything as a game ( like kids do), life is so much more fun :>)

Yeah, I'm looking forward to having a chat again, one day soon. And no worries, I'm still going strong :>)

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.011 which ranks you at #1117 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1120).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 374 contributions, your post is ranked at #130.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Steem is now $0.55US. I hope you get the full price in the power down. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77