Tip For new Users: Comment

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey people of steem,

How is your day going so far?

This is a similar message I have written before for new users. If you have recently joined, welcome. And if you are following me thank you. Get ready for lots of geeky awesomeness :p. This post is to recommend that you spend more time commenting than posting at this stage. Some one made a good point that you should do a couple of posts so people know who you are but then focus on the commenting. Why? Because I do not want to see people work hard on posts then get frustrated when they feel they did not make enough steem. It is not you. The site has a lot of users and with so much space only so many posts can really get attention. This is not a steemit problem but a problem for every blog and social media site. There is only so much room on the trending pages.

Now this will get easier when communities come out and we better filter out posts. But at this time I recommend commenting as much as you can. You will have a better chance of getting upvotes and it is less work than a long post. And it can also help build your page as people will know who you are.

Try it out.

cat-1038262_1280.png

Sort:  

thanks. I was just three months into steemit. I spend more time commenting on whale blogs. I hope they will help me grow my account.
because when i make a post. I rarely get high vote value.
thanks a lot if you are happy to help grow our account.

Thanks @whatageek, i have taken to this advise for a while and it helps. Over a while now i have been spending more time on commenting and writing posts once a while. It works my friend

Glad to hear :)

Thank you @whatageek for your kind advice. It helps to know what others are doing to succeed on this platform

Yeah, that's true. I have also noticed, that despite the fact I didn't write any new post, I have some new followers just because I post some comments under their posts. It's fun. Also good tip IMHO is to use curation trail to search for interesting content. Let other filters posts for you ;) it's easier to find interesting things, than to use "newest" feed. But to be honest, I found this post on newest tab :D

It might help a little, but I believe not to much. If you look at the curation league hosted by @abh12345, you can see a few top commenters in the 2nd league. Those Steemonians wrote hundreds of comments on a weekly basis. It takes them a full work week (like 40 hours per week) and yet they don't have a large group of followers their selves. Of course they do a bit better then the average. But only very few new Steemonians succeed in getting like 20+ comments per post and $10+ value.

In one thing you are totally right, follow you for some geeky stuff. No discussion about that!

This is my fourth day on steemit and steem blockchain, and I really like it, I found your post and are always fun or helpful to understand cryptocurrencies. Thanks you

Really true man. Commenting helped me gain exposure and recognition in my early days on the block chain. It still is - one tool that is very important

That's what i am doing from the past 4 months, making relations with others through comments :) and the response is awesome.

The response really is great! It feels easier to create a personal community than on sites like reddit.

yeah, go ahead brother.

At first I was having a hard time finding articles that piqued my interest enough to comment. However over time I have found different communities/users within Steemit that I find really interesting and I comment a decent amount now.
You definitively get a lot more out of Steemit if you are commenting!

Interesting you say that. I am right at the beginning with Steemit and I feel like I am struggling to find the stuff that piques my interest. Do you have any tips on, how to find interesting stuff?

Really for me it was through using the tags to search through articles of things I liked. I really like video games and music so I started going through their corresponding tags, found people I liked and started following them and rather quickly I had found a few really good communities.
I was also fortunate enough to have a few key people comment on my posts that had similar interests to me. So from there I looked at what they were resteeming, contests they were entering/hosting, what they were posting about and who was commenting on their posts and pretty quickly I had found my place on Steemit!

Do you know when communities will come out and what it will look like? Do you have any good resources for learning about what it will look like?

I really try to comment on as much as possible, but I still enjoy writing articles! Even if no one is reading them, they are fun to make and post! Maybe someday they will be more featured and appreciated. Until then, I'm just writing for my own fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44