Could steemit be threatened by government action?

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm concerned that steemit could be threatened by government action. I'm not talking about them confiscating steem currency. I'm more concerned about plagiarism, hate speech, and libel. Do you guys think that there could be any action taken by the government if people that post are putting illegal information here? I've seen people just copy and paste entire articles or pictures here without sourcing it. I'm all about free speech and the 1st amendment. I feel that we don't want to give any reason for steemit to get shut down. Let me know what you guys think!

Sort:  

Yeah, are we anonymous here? Or is our IP address logged?

Steemit does. I'm sure information we post here could be subpoenaed by a judge.

https://steemit.com/privacy.html

Yea the copy-pasta is unfortunate but government action on Steem will be about as effective as government action on Torrent... It's a p2p system that is in existence as long as one person is broadcasting data.

For steem, the entire code is open sourced, so there are probably so many copies floating around already as well as a master copy that is maintained on GitHub. Even with government intervention, they won't be able to stop Steem or steem-clones from popping up in the future if the original steem is taken down, as long as someone has a copy and wants to put it up.

I see torrent sites get shut down all the time. They might not be able to take action against individual users, but they might be able to shut down the whole site. Other sites certainly will pop up, but it takes years to rebuild a community.

Yea but the technology of torrent doesn't require websites. I can create a torrent sharing platform without the need for a website at all. the website just makes it more convenient.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76