DAY 1 STEEMIT: THE FOREIGN COUNTRY (FOR THOSE GETTING HERE FROM YT)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This is NOT going to cover all the ins and outs but will start you on the path.

#1 DON'T PANIC:

Day 1 is like being dropped into a foreign country and not knowing the language or how to even get help and with all the buttons and passwords you wonder if you are going to post or push the wrong button (yes it happens). And lord help ya if ya lost "THE PASSWORD" you were told not to lose!

#2 YOU LEARNED TO TIE YOUR SHOES: (this is the velcro version)

Yes it can be a challenge but you learned and you will learn here as well (velcro is saving the threads/bookmark to be able to go back and re read till ya got it all figured out (remember this is a foreign country analogy).

#4 SAFETY FIRST:

In spite of all the things you need to learn, safety of your password and keys are important (without them you don't exist) so this first link I am placing here is how to use it and I hope you remember to velcro/bookmark it and to find a new blog by the blog owner and upvote them, they deserve it!
More links to other items will follow and be numbered in what I see as importance.

#5 BEING A VIABLE PRODUCTIVE STEEMIAN:

You are a very small minnow here and not a YT rock star and trolls die here (don't be a troll).

Everything you write and post or edit or delete, there will always be a copy of it on blockchain (yes this is a great thing).

Your actions and attitude will make you or break you (pull up the undies you are now in big people land).

Link #1
https://steemit.com/security/@noisy/what-is-the-difference-between-a-password-and-a-private-key-s-on-steemit-how-to-make-your-account-more-secure-by-using-them
Link #2
https://steemit.com/security/@noisy/public-and-private-keys-how-they-are-used-by-steem-making-all-of-these-possible-you-can-find-answer-here
Link #3
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ilyastarar/the-all-in-one-steemit-guide-for-newbies-and-minnows-tutorials-guides-advice

I could say in order to grow here it depends on who you know but it is really less about that and more about being social and chatting with folks (look under all the tags and find folks you like) and interacting with them, this comment: NICE POST can get you flagged by several because it is spam.

There are some awesome folks here at steemit and the community of sharing blows me away.
So welcome to steemit, read, respond and be real.

Sort:  

What a nice post. Just kidding I am not gonna spam comment. But it is a great post for newbies. The other thing I would add you do not start a job and take over as CEO in a week. Do not expect to make money right away that is like expecting to be CEO after a week at a new job.

you do not start a job and take over as CEO in a week

Wow! Amazing illustration!

It is how I see what happens with some.

LOL I know you don't spam. Yes folks learn pretty fast just how low on the totem pole they are here and just dropping a video link won't get them much. I did the Blog for OGN @offgridnation but several others can benefit as well.

I been know to spam links at times for good causes. Fundraising causes, if I spam a link ever to you, it is a fund raiser. cause that is the only time I spam links to people, unless they ask me to send them something when I get around to posting it. I will be having another spam link out sometime in the next day or two as I help sponsor a school in Bangladesh. And it has been way to long since I have done a post to raise money for the fruit program.

just found this series and looking forward to reading them all and learning from them. I am pretty new to Steemit and looking forward to understanding it as well as YouTube. Granted I don't really know YT as well as I should... :-) Thanks for sharing these tips and tricks, if you will. God Bless!

Each one is different but hold nuggets of knowledge, enjoy reading them all!

Thanks! I keep reminding myself that his is NOT youtube and to keep my mind open to learning a new platform. So far, I really like it, but still has A LOT to learn. Thanks for the quick reply!

No kidding!!! When I started back in May I felt way over my head. I have a little better grasp on what is going on but still learning more. Still working through understanding crypto currencies and how that can turn into actual $$

I still do not have that nailed down but am learning!

Steemit is a bit different than other platforms. That's for sure. Thank you @weetreebonsai for inviting me to make my mark here way back in May of this year :) You are providing some much needed guidance and encouragement for newcomers. Point them down the path and give them the push to start walking!

The world of YT is so different than steemit, getting their feet wet to me brings value.

Great Post @weetreebonsai. I seen the link on @offgridnation post and decided to check it out. It is hard to learn the tags we should be using in the beginning. I am sure your blog can help alot of people on here.

Thank You and yes it will also be a blog, just getting folks past the first days so they can understand it.

Thank you for helping so many of our steemit friends.

To the YT world this really is like a foreign country and if they can't speak the language they need someone that can get them thru the first week and learn as they go. If you can't enjoy the new country why go.

I appreciate this, weetree. I have been on steemit for awhile, but it's intimidating to me. I will be following this to see if I can understand better how this platform works.

To learn any new skill requires us all to take the time and this community is worth the time it takes.
Nina let me know what you are needing to know and I will see if I can find the answer or link you or anyone else to a blog that goes into details for y'all.

Thanks Wee. This is helpful. Slowly but surely :)

We created a series (collab) on it.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @weetreebonsai to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85