I Muted The Most Trending User in Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

This is a rant post, because everyone should be allowed to rant on their own blog.

I admit my own feed shows up with some meh posts once in a while, so every so often I would browse the Trending, New and Hot sections just to see what's going on in everyone's Steemit lives.

Being a self-proclaimed discerning blogger myself, I've seen my share of other bloggers overbloating and overhyping themselves under the guise of helping people, and what they really are just being the offline version of Robert Kiyosaki. I don't mind them most of the time.

Unless they keep popping up in the Trending section, over and over and over again. Like a headache that would not go away.

I keep seeing this Steemian rehashing and paraphrasing the same ol' advice and tips without adding any real value (at least from my perspective), and reposting them across his blog once his previous posts reached payout. Advising people how to make money on Udemy and things like that, which normally sounds right, but when coming from him, just makes it more suspicious as if he's rehashing his old blog posts because he doesn't have anything else to talk about, rather than offer new knowledge of value and telling people to sign up at his virtual university.

I've learned over the years to filter increasing marketing ploys like that, and I've decided that I've had enough junk to deal with.
webgrrrl ignores you

I expect I'll be using the Mute button more often after this. Let me enjoy more noteworthy posts in the Trending page, now that there's one less selly selly blogger to read about.

Meh. I'm sure he won't feel the loss. I'm just a tiny speck who's not in his target users of easily-fooled greedy Steemians.

End of rant. Thank you for reading. Sorry if I've wasted your time.

By the way, the user I was referring to? His first name sounds like Jerry, and his last name sounds like Banfield.

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@webgrrrl/the-3-good-bots-of-steemit

Sort:  

Congratulations @webgrrrl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56828.09
ETH 2368.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26