You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voting-bots are not (inherently) bad

in #steemit6 years ago

This is the classical, blame the user for a shitty platform case. What you are essentially doing is saying that people who write worthwhile posts shouldn't complain, but correct the fault of the programmers.

It is like blaming the guy who accidentally sent the wrong nuclear bomb message in Hawaii, instead of seeing that the user interface was the worst anyone has ever seen.

But in a way I get that you want to believe it is ok to encourage this behavior, because almost everyone has the choice to participate. Only the poorest of the poor don't. Like in life, so on steemit. Why do we even bother with this platform, because life is how it is. Someone always takes the rewards.

Sort:  

This is the classical, blame the user for a shitty platform case. What you are essentially doing is saying that people who write worthwhile posts shouldn't complain, but correct the fault of the programmers.

I don't think, that there is a fault of programming after all. I just think, that it is ok to push your own content, especially when you put a lot of effort into it to attract new readers.

But in a way I get that you want to believe it is ok to encourage this behavior, because almost everyone has the choice to participate. Only the poorest of the poor don't.

The thing is: I don't believe, that the bots will go away. There is too much money involved. And yeah, I know it's not fair for the people who cannot afford it, but that's the way it is right now. I think, there a many amazing content creators on this platform, who should get more attention - and they will most likely get it using the available tools.

Yeah, they probably won't go away if nothing is done. But when everyone starts using the bots nothing matters anymore. The owners of the bots get rich if they know to exit before the price comes crashing down. I used to use bots, because I was thinking somewhat along the lines of what you are thinking, but what is the point of a platform like steemit, if the money goes not to the people, but the people in charge of the bots.

I see it as delaying the inevitable collapse of steem if I don't participate in the behavior. Giving those in charge time to fix it. And what does it matter in the end if they never fix it. I'm not taking out any money at this point so I won't be benefiting anyway then.

but what is the point of a platform like steemit, if the money goes not to the people, but the people in charge of the bots

Frankly, I am ok with other people getting rich. I don't envy them. They had an idea, implemented it and are now profiting. That's alright in my world.
Sure, I like rewards for my posts, we all do, but if you are only here because of them, then it's probably the wrong motivation anyway.

I see it as delaying the inevitable collapse of steem if I don't participate in the
behavior.

You might be right about this one. I don't know, what steemit will become, future will tell :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86