You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bidbot Experiment: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

in #steemit5 years ago

I used bid bots like crazy in my earlier days here but I stopped using them. I realized it wouldn't be real in terms of knowing if you created something exceptional. If I didn't get any upvotes I took it as a challenge to improve and turn up the volume a notch higher. The feeling is ecstatic and rewarding seeing people truly enjoying your content.

Sort:  

The feeling is ecstatic and rewarding seeing people truly enjoying your content.

Yes, that is true.

Last year, when I played with them, I wasn't tracking results. I assumed that rewards would be greater for those who voted earliest, so I waited for three days before I bought a vote. What that likely did, in reality, was increase my manual human votes but, as I show, those voters got fewer rewards. There is a reason that these bidbots have a three-day limit on placing bids. After that three-day limit, the rewards for bidders goes down. They'll make less and the other curators will make more as per percentage of post (don't quote me, but I think I read that in the white paper).

When I started this experiment, I thought those who were saying it dilutes the rewards pool were just making a lot of noise because they didn't like the bots. That's why I decided to perform this experiment. To my surprise, that was the only thing I was wrong about.

You do feel a lot better about your posts when you know that actual humans are upvoting them and that you're getting a better-than-average return on account it. I remember the first @curie vote I got. I couldn't believe it. It was for a poem. It knocked me out of my chair.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63