Testing out the DIY Forge

in #steemit6 years ago

G'day Steemers

About to embark on a new hobby, blacksmithing. Basically it's because I'm a history nut and when you look back through most of human history, there in the background, making all the things that made history possible, was a sweaty bloke banging hot bits of metal. I've decided to become that sweaty bloke and get a hands-on feel for what it was like for those craftsmen of days gone by.

First step to getting started was to build a forge, and being a bit tight on funds, I decided the best option was to snaffle an old BBQ from the local council clean up, do some repairs and modifications and see how it goes. And here it is, the test firing. Much to my surprise it works perfectly.

From here I need to track down an anvil and we'll be away. What do you think I should make first (keeping in mind I've never smithed anything in my life)? I'm thinking a simple fireplace poker, but am open to suggestions.

Cheers

Warwick

Sort:  

Congratulations @warwickoneill! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @warwickoneill! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53