THE AIRDROP GENERATION AND THE STEEMIT EXPERIENCE

in #steemit6 years ago

When I first heard of crypto, the idea was an ephemeral thing, no substance, no weight. All I was told was you can buy and sell bitcoin. I was not told how I was to go about the buying and selling. I didn't consider it to be a scam but I didn't also find any appeal in the idea. Then I was introduced to steemit.


money-2180330_1280.jpg
photo by Kschneider2991 on pixabay


Through steemit I have come to learn so much about crypto that I am amazed that it took me this long to get into the blockchain craze. I have evolved over the months I have been on steemit from the writer and content creator to investor and now trader in the crypto space.

For some of you my achievements are memories in your journey. You have come so far in your crypto experience that you are basically making a living out of it. I hope to get to that place some day.

On the other hand, there's a generation of adopters who I have come to notice in the cryptospace. I do not mean the steem blockchain but also the other tokens and blockchains coming up every day. I call these people the airdrop generation.

It is true that there's money to be made on crypto. It is also true that we are here on steemit to make money first and foremost. We might not be pressed to make it now but every one's goal whether long term or otherwise is to make a living out of the crypto revolution. Yet, there are those who seek to make this money at no cost and with no plan.

Airdrop are free coins given before an initial coin offering, to create awareness about the project and encourage more participation in the project, the coin is supporting. There's always an airdrop going on somewhere, every other day.

The good thing about airdrops is that participants get coins for free. These coins have the potential of becoming quite expensive later on, inadvertently making hodlers of the coin rich without doing a thing or spending a dime.

A lot of adopters of the crypto revolution especially on steemit have inculcated that idea into how they perceive the cryptospace. They see it as free money. As a result, they do not make effort into bringing value to the space.

Over time, I have become acquainted with discord servers where talent shows, variety night shows, games and so on are quite popular. These shows have as rewards steem as well as other tokens. It is always filled with participants who are eager to get a free coin for doing the cover of a song or being lucky in a game of chance.

I am not saying that it is wrong to encourage community members to participate in community programs. What bothers me is that some of the participants may have or have not posted on the platform for weeks, some even months.

They have discovered that they get more reward from games while doing next to nothing compared to the cost of writing, editing and curating a post. Some of these shows give steem just for showing up. What I do not understand is what is the benefit to the steemit platform? What is the benefit to the community?

I have seen community leaders say that they are not getting rewards for running communities on discord, yet they give free tokens. I do not understand this magnanimity.

I believe that even if a show is being held for entertainment purposes as well as to also generate traction in a particular community, the participants should be encouraged to write and post their experiences if that is all they can do. We should not leave the steemit platform fallow while we are actively engaged on discord.

Yet again, I am aware of the importance of the discord app with regards to the steemit community. I am also aware as to how it brings people together in a much more personal manner than the comment section of the steemit blog can ever do but we should not forget why we are on discord in the first place.

If the steemit platform has no one posting content on it, where will we get the steem to trade, to exchange, to gift? Why can't shows that gift steem and sbd out to participant integrate posting on steemit as part of the process of winning on the shows?

Now again, I may be wrong in my postulation and if I am then correct me. I do know though that as a result of this gift giving economy, so many communities are launching on discord that perform the same function, are ran by the same persons and it is outrageous. If you cannot see that it is weird, then I apologise and return back to my permutations.


WARPED SPITS

Sort:  

Don’t know airdrops are not so bad on its own. And remember, not everyone could write so that it could be even easily read.

No airdrop are pretty good. I have filled some myself. Well there's Dtube, dsound, Dlive and so on.

They have discovered that they get more reward from games while doing next to nothing compared to the cost of writing, editing and curating a post.

I guess this really does just come with people being lazy. buying steem on the exchange, transferring it over to their account and thinking the only way they are going to make the money is by selling their votes to a bot. My favorite thing about steem is being able to spend the time to interact with people and be an active contributor to the steem chain​ and be able to make at least someone's day better by commenting something nice and meaningful on their page.

My favorite thing about steem is being able to spend the time to interact with people and be an active contributor to the steem chain​ and be able to make at least someone's day better by commenting something nice and meaningful on their page.

Exactly.


buying steem on the exchange, transferring it over to their account and thinking the only way they are going to make the money is by selling their votes to a bot.

This is another kettle of fish. At least they bothered to trade. What bugs me in the discord games and shows is that it doesn't even reflect on the platform. There are no evidence besides memos and wallet transfers. They do not powerup, do not write, do not curate, do nothing but come on voice and sing or spin a wheel or recite a poem. If they even try to post their entries on those games, then it would be kosher but no. It is too much trouble.

Enjoyed this post. I added it to my msp-curation post for this week courtesy of @msp-curation and @minnowsupport

Thank you very much. I am grateful to you for finding interest in my amateur writings. Bless up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43