HIGHWAY TO 100K STEEM POWER: JOURNAL #1 | CELEBRATING 1 YEAR ON STEEMIT!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

What is up guys! 

It's 24th January, 2018 today and guess what? I've completed one year on Steemit. 

No, actually, it is one year and two days. I'm late to write this anniversary post. 

I had registered at Steemit.com on 22nd January, 2017. 

Wanna know the backstory?

@firepower had told me about this platform long long ago around October or November 2016 if I'm not wrong but I hadn't bothered much about it back then. I thought this was a ponzi scheme. I didn't believe it was real money. 

In the beginning of 2017, United Bikers of Mangalore did a charity event where we all pooled in some amount and donated it to a charity that supports HIV positive kids. @firepower donated a huge amount during the event and it was all from his Steemit earnings. 

This was when I actually believed that Steemit is legit and created an account.

When did I start writing?

Until June 2017, I didn't start writing anything. I had never written a blog before and I wanted my first post to be the best. First impression is the last impression they say. 

In June, 2017, I finally mustered up some will power and wrote an introduction post. It was pretty lengthy. It was my first post and I ended up posting it in #travel. Talk about screwing up. Tried to change it but it went in vain. 

It somehow earned $6 and that gave me enough encouragement to write more. I kept writing but I was not very regular. During this time two of my articles got picked up by @curie and one by @blocktrades. If they like your posts, you're bound to get huge rewards. 

Sometimes I would put hours of efforts and those articles wouldn't earn much and that would demotivate me. But I never gave up on writing. There would be huge gaps of weeks and sometimes months but I would start writing again. 

Steemfest 2

Then came @Steemfest 2. I never even had thought of attending Steemfest but in the last moment, @varunpinto and I made up our minds that we would be attending Steemfest 2 and we actually did it. We even got to be a part of @firepower crew. It was a pleasure helping out @roelandp organise the event. He is a hard working guy. 

How many articles did I post?

It's been a year of creating my account on Steemit but I've been writing here and involving with the community for about 7 months now and have written about 72 articles which translates to roughly about 10 articles a month. Which means 2-3 articles a week. 

That's not a lot considering some people do 2-3 posts a day. But I like to keep it clean. I prefer writing one high quality post over 100 low quality ones. I could've been well over 60 rep by now and a lot more SP than I have now had I done the latter. I do regret doing Black and White challenge though. 

What do I do with my SBD?

I have been using all my SBDs to power up my Steemit account. This way I get to have voting power and am able to make a small difference in people's lives. Even though I may not have a lot of SP right now to give out big votes, I aim to reach 100,000 SP by powering up at every opportunity. I have also started diversifying my investments recently. 

If you are a big bag holder and have Steem Power lying unused (if you don't vote often), would you like to delegate some SP to me? I would continue curating content and be able to make a bigger impact on lives. 

My Steemit Goals for 2018:

During the beginning of 2018, I decided I would write one post a day no matter what but I got deviated. 24 days of 2018 have passed and I've written 13 posts including this. Which means I've not written anything for 11 days of 2018. I'll try to make it up by writing 2 posts a day in the coming days if I get enough time to make 2 quality posts. 

I would also like to end 2018 having earned 10,000 Steem Power in my account. (With all your support!)

I've been pondering over starting contests for new users to help them get some exposure. I've been supported by some old time Steemit users. Time to give it back to the community. 

I'll also continue writing this journal regularly. I haven't decided on the frequency yet but I'll figure that out with time. 

What do you think? I should write this everyday, weekly or monthly?

In short, my goals for 2018 are: 

  1. One post a day.
  2. 10,000 Steem Power by Dec 2018 end.
  3. Carry out contests.
  4. Write Journal. 

Other goals: 

  1. Travel at least two new countries.
  2. Complete editing all my videos. 
  3. Start working. (Right now I'm doing Steemit full time)

Let's celebrate by painting!

I decided to try my hands on painting something after quite a long time. It's been years.

1. The minnow

(@wandereronwheels)

2. The Whale. 

(What the minnow aspires to be.)

3. The Spammers.

(Junk the minnow has to compete against to get a whale's attention to his article.)

4. Let's start painting.

5. Let's add more colors.

6. Outlines. 

7. And it's complete. 

You might wonder why I didn't mention 100k a lot in the post. That's because I wanna get there step by step. The main goal is 100k but first, I've to hit 10k by the end of this year. 

If you've read till the end, you're awesome! :D 

Thank you for reading. :)

~Wanderer out~

Sort:  

Yes @wandereronwheels, you should write daily, because you are one of the users who keep moving this community further and further!

If you are a big bag holder and have Steem Power lying unused (if you don't vote often), would you like to delegate some SP to me? I would continue curating content and be able to make a bigger impact on lives.

For the "big bag holder", you should really do that because he is the real deal and we as a community should reward this people!

I am sure you are going to achieve all your goals for 2018 and even more!

PS: @wandereronwheels I've also answered your comment on my introduction post about the personal development books. Sorry for the big delay :(

Best Regards!
Alin

Thank you so much for counting on me man! Really appreciate it.
It is people like you who make it worth the while being on Steemit! :D

I am happy to return the favor!
Please let me know if I can help with anything.

Congrats for one year @wandereronwheels! I am right there with you on wanting to get to 100k steem power. I am powering up everything I earn. 10,000 SP is a great goal for end of 2018 and would like to hit that target to. That would be a fantastic gain. Look forward to your journey here.

Thank you so much, Matthew.
Lets do a race to 10k, shall we? :P

Yes let's do it! Will only motivate us to push harder....I hope. :)

Interesting. I will suggest you write the journal every wednesday, by this your followers will know the particular day not to miss the journal also it would create room for anticipation. I am new to steemit so i am learning from people like you. Thanks for inspiring!

Sounds like a good idea to write it once a week. Thanks for the suggestion. :)

You are welcome (:

I love the idea of writing daily; it's something I've also thought about doing. But, like you, I would also prefer to write 1-2 really good posts per week than 7 average ones for the sake of making a post.

I think if you've got a solid following then they'll appreciate the content as and when it arrives. I certainly enjoyed this post, and will be following you for future updates.

I also love the idea of a SP target. Like you, I've been reinvesting all of my earnings into SP, although I've only been a member of the platform for a few weeks. 10,000 is one heck of a goal, but I think you can do it if you're consistent. I'll join you in that target!

Just checked a couple of your posts. They deserve a lot more attention than they're getting now. Let's reach this goal together!

Thank you very much, I really appreciate your kind words and the upvotes! Let's get to it!

I hope you reach your 100k SP soon bro, I wish you all the very Best. 😊 and congratulations on a year's completion

Thanks bro! I hope so too.
Wish you the best :)

Congratulations. Try to post daily. You're good at writing. Screenshot1.png There is one mistake please do correct it.

Thanks for that. :)
Corrected.

very nice post, keep it up. make sure to check my art page too. artists need to come together on this platform

I advise you to stop spamming the same thing everywhere. You can get flagged by the not so tolerant guys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43