Start Earning Immediately on Steemit... Here Is How

in #steemit7 years ago

Whenever you first join Steemit, it can be intimidating. You see people posting and making hundreds of dollars and your little vote is barely worth a penny. Don't worry. When I got here the first time I felt the same way, but there is one way you can start earning immediately and get payouts starting after your first week.

(Source)

Start Earning Immediately

The very best thing to do when you first get here is to start giving good honest, thoughtful and valuable replies when you read other people's blogs.

For the first month, you should plan on spending most of your time reading and replying to other people's posts. The trick is to pick people that have a reputation that is higher than 50 or 55. The higher the better.  Not only can you learn more about Steemit from the people that have been here longer, but you can also earn more.

Don't just reply with... "Great post" or "This is awesome, can you read mine?"

When you reply, read the post and give great feedback. Write a couple of sentences and add some of your own thoughts and interpretations.  

If you read about a good tip, maybe like this one lol, then you could explain why it is important to you. 

As someone who writes a lot of content and has been here a while, I really appreciate and try to go out of my way to help and guide new people. I almost always vote for people that reply and follow them as well. I even go to some of the new people's pages and upvote their stuff to help them get started. I'm not alone. There were many people who helped me get to where I am.

Taking the time to appreciate what people write with a great reply will get you upvotes. There is no doubt about it. It may not happen each time, but it will happen often. 

The trick is to give a great and valuable reply when you respond to a blog. Really engage and mean it. Don't BS your way through a reply.

If you do this, you will be able to generate more rewards than your average blog. This is a good way to get active and find some great people to follow on the site. Another reason is because you can use the rewards from commenting to power up your STEEM and grow your voting strength. 

When I first started, my first 100 Steem Power came almost exclusivly from replies. After a month in, my posts were making only $.50 cents each, but I was earning $20 a day on comments. Now it is easier to earn so much more because of the higher Steem and SBD.

So if you are new here, spend your first month really trying to reply and give good, valuable feedback. I guarantee if you do this, you will grow faster than if you just try to blog.  I still recommend blogging while you are doing this, but spend most of your time on connecting with the community.

Let me know if you think this will help you in the comments below.

Did this work for you? 

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Beginning is extremely difficult here, on Steemit. Your vote is so low, that everything you write is lost in the multitude of stories. Best is to find a niche where some powerful curators are promoting low rated, quality content. This is my strategy...

It is tough. I agree and think you have the right strategy.

It has worked for me. I am in my second month on Steemit and find setting goals helped. If I determined my worth from upvotes, I would be frustrated and quit. So, I set other goals in the beginning. For instance, I set a goal to hit 350 followers my first month. I met my goal so that helped, especially as my wallet value dropped recently. I just set a goal to read and comment more. I am hoping to leave 10 strong comments a day. I find by slowing down and focusing on 10 or so articles, I get more satisfaction than flying through hundreds. I appreciate your blog. One of my favorites. Blessings.

Thank you so much and I am very happy your are finding success. I set goals for myself as well. I use Steem.Supply to help me track my progress too. I also have goals for Steem Power. Like I want to hit 1000 by the end of the month. Thanks for the awesome reply and I wish you the best of luck.

I must say that your posts are inspiring and motivating. I'm new here. I love to share my experiences with what I learned in life. But I'm not a blogger. After joining steemit I tried to write something useful and better but I didn't get views and I was dishearted. But you have shown a good point here that during first or two months, we must make our worth and then start blogging so it may reach to many people.
Keep it up buddy. Best wishes for you.

I'm glad you are finding my blogs helpful. That is why I write them. It is important to continue blogging while you are also commenting. At least one a day, but really put some effort into adding value. That is key. It is discouraging in the beginning, but keep it up. We all had to go through a rough time to get where we are today. It isn't easy, but nothing worthwhile is. Keep up the great work and thanks fo the kind words. You got a new follower.

My pleasure brother

As someone who just started, this is great advice. It is starting to work. I have been reading and commenting by trying to contribute something useful. If I don't have anything that enhances what is stated in the blog, which happens often, I still upvote, comment, and resteem. I assume that other people appreciate more exposure even from plankton like me. Thanks for posting such wonderful, helpful content. The support from people who have been around a while, makes me want to comment more. Thank you again.

Thank you for the great reply and kind words. I appreciate it. I am glad you finding success in the comments because it really is the best way to grow when you first arrive. Keep posting blogs to get your content out and who knows, one might hit, but commenting is the best way for sure. Keep up the good work.
Thanks again.

I’ve realized this and I totally agree! Now I find myself not writing about what I think are my best ideas because I figure that no one’s going to be seeing them anyway 😂. I’ve been focusing on reading as much as I can and commenting so I can meet new people who might actually see my posts in the future. I do like to scroll through the new posts and find quality pieces written by brand new people (I’ve only been here two weeks though so I guess I’m new too) and up vote them (my 0.01 vote 😑😂) so they know at least someone is reading it.

You have the right strategy and the right attitude. I'll check out your blog after this and give you some support. I appreciate the comment and taking time to read my post. Thank you!

Thank you! Means a lot :)

This is my third week here on steemit with 100 followers, 120+ posts which are mostly comments and replies. I agree with you about interacting with people because one put himself out to the open. Thanks for the advice.

No problem, I am happy to do it. I like helping new people out and you are doing great for only been here a couple of weeks. It is a tough thing to start on Steemit, but if you fight through it, the rewards are awesome and we haven't even begun to see the possibilities. Thanks for the reply. You got a new follower.

OMG! Thank you so much. It means a lot to me that you’re doing this. To Better days ahead 🥂

I comment a lot. But then I land up into bandwidth issues. They are rare from past few weeks since I powered up slightly.
I still comment a lot and here I am commenting on a great post. I appreciate experienced people sharing their success techniques.
Slowly I have started blogging too. Takes hours to write a blog but still earning just about a dollar.

Thanks for the kind words. I understand that you are making a dollar now, but if Steem goes to $50 a token, then you are really making about $10. It's about the long-term growth to be honest. That is where the real success is. It may take you a couple of hours to write a blog, but you'll get faster. Good luck!

True, I am hopeful that Steem will hit $15 by end of 2018.
I am following you, so see you around. Hope to interact on more interesting topics.

While it´s a nice feature to earn STEEM, I guess we should also look at the many ways, that Steemit enriches our lifes in general - through decentralization, communication and community building like no other social network has done before. I think, monetary success comes by its own, once you find and devote yourself to your passion! ❤️

I agree. I think we all want a say, and that is how the platform is designed. We upvote what we think is important and good content. The best way to have a bigger say is to power up, especially for new people. The Steem Power is an important part of being able to communicate and build the community. Thanks for the great reply.

I'm trying to do pretty much the same.
And even in the first seven days I have found out i can earn decent through comments and get my rep to a decent level.

Yeah, commenting is the best way when you are starting out... 100% Thanks for the reply.

Thank you for your helpful explanations, your explanations can be great help, I will use your advice . 🙏

Thank you. I hope it helps. You got a new follower.

thanks.. you got, too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79