You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem is Crashing - Wanna talk about it? or even better, do something about it?

in #steemit8 years ago

The value of steem is indeed going down. But I think we have to also keep one thing in mind: In the long run, steem is ment to drop in value 50% a year. And if I understand correctly, in the beginning this wll be a lot faster.

This is meant to keep steem from being held longtime, favouring turning it into steempower, but it means that all the downpowering people can't do a thing...

Steem has to be moved very quickly, or it is very expensive to hold. This might be problematic when it comes to steem becoming accepted as a means of exchange, but it also means that there will be a "downward premium" in what people want to pay for it in less inflationary currency.

I could see myself accepting a bitcoin, realising that I can turn it into other services or other goods later in life. Steem however, I would never accept unless I was intending to turn it into steempower,...

It might very well work.

The real value of steemit to me lies not in the value of steem, but in the value of the Steemdollars. As long as they do not devaluate too much, I see steemit doing well. If they go down we are In deep trouble.

Sort:  

The steem dollar is already pretty low, it was intended to always be worth 1 USD...
It's fine that the value of steem is decreasing as this was always the plan but for now the value of steempower + interests is decreasing fast and who knows how low it will go.

As long as we get people holding by powering up we should see a slight increase in value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66