Steemit Rocks! One Week of Active Steeming and I'm Hooked

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

golf-course-1103359_1920.jpg

I'm a noob on Steemit. Signed up back in the Fall and never used it. Too busy showing Twitter how much I knew. How on the ball I was. Too busy working a 50 hour/week career running a golf course to get involved in some "ponzi scheme."

Life comes at you fast.

Well, three weeks ago, the owner of my former golf club walked into my office at quitting time. Hadn't seen him in weeks. Lays it out there that the club doesn't actually need a general manager, that he and his office staff could take care of my job no sweat.

Bam, punch right to the Solar Plexus!

I didn't love my job. Thought ownership was failing to pay attention the way it ought to. Would've preferred to leave on my own terms, but shit happens. Two weeks severance and no dispute on unemployment was the offer. Seeing I was the one being fired, not much room for negotiation.

So with that said, I'd like to get on with the point of this post, I am loving Steemit!

My first thought was about money, yet I had no understanding of the platform. I see now that you have to be consistent, concise, opportunistic, friendly, helpful, polite and determined to get anywhere with Steemit. Even those attributes may not get you anywhere, but without them, you're guaranteed not to do well.

Steemit has made me determined to succeed on this platform. It's as tho it were a battle of blogging gladiators. One has to continue producing to gain attention on the forum and that attention will be withheld if the performance of the product delivered is sub par.(Golf Reference) My first few days on Steemit were mostly spent reading and watching how-to posts about the do's and don'ts of successful Steemit blogging. Add a picture here, space break there, site the source of your content or else.

office-583841_1920.jpg

It's gotten to the point where I'm actually creating an outline before typing. I'm constantly thinking of the next thing to blog about. I'm talking to more strangers and actually asking them questions. I'm researching ideas that I never would have bothered looking into. I feel like a wandering reporter at large among the public. My need to be inquisitive has never been so sharp.

One of the beautiful things about Steemit is that it is not Facebook or Twitter or LinkedIn. You can't just dump your email portfolio into your contacts page. Your family isn't likely to come aboard on your say so.

You have to actively impress strangers with the content of your creation on a daily basis or you will wither!

To finish my current thoughts, what I have discerned over the past week on the Steemit platform is that this is a community. There are people creating content to help the noobs all throughout the forum. They may profit from the help, but it seems freely given, for there seems to be a guiding principal on this forum:

The better your followers do, the better you do! The more Steem is imparted, gained, earned, rewarded...

Steemit really is a community.

Picture sources:

  1. pixabay.com
  2. mightyfighter.com
  3. pixabay.com

Feel free to upvote, resteem or follow

Sheeps

Sort:  

wow beautiful thoughts about steemit here ;-) I am learning, welcome back @wakeupsheeps ;-)) Following you ^_^

yes I am lucky I see now to get the attention of a whale or two
and i didnt wait to do my intro on purpose but I noticed people doing late intros after already accumulating followers ended up making alot ore, but then again some people would get $100 of their intrro (cute girls lol) without any steempower and asicly that was their first initla boost!

But you can earn jusy as much with zero steempower! I made like $10 off my first posts when I made em about internet chat room history and i was very proud of that post as it taught u abut howold teh internet and chatrooms and forums really are for those of us who were birn in teh late 80s or 90s and nver lived through that priod when PCs came out and they had the "internet" there wa sjust no "worldwideweb" yet with browser etc it was all text based
but ii still cant believe they had in 1980s the ability to use actual real time chat rooms with copuserve

man if they only knew how accurate their dreams of future computers would become...



atari ahead of its time

Being that I'm in my forties, I witnessed every step of the way. I remember it was only doctors and real estate agents with old brick of a cell phone. When a PC was a glorified typewriter and pre windows 95 operating systems. The first Mac lab showed up in my classroom in sophomore year of high school. Technology has been amazing to watch grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64