Discussion topic: Should your Steemit content be driven by passion or upvotes?

in #steemit7 years ago

There was a girl I knew in college who told me she hated it when artists say they write their music for their fans.

"I'm so sick of all of these musicians saying 'we do this for our fans.' I'd respect an artist so much more if he/she said, 'I write music because I'm passionate about what it stands for.' I'd rather listen to someone sing a song they're passionate about than listen to a song that was written to appeal to the masses," she told me.

concert-768722_1920.jpg

It's an interesting point.

The same debate applies to Steemit. Should you blog about the things you are passionate about? Or should you blog with the intention of appealing to Steemian upvoters?

I'd love to see this discussion unfold in the comments section, but I'll provide some food for thought below.


Blogging to appeal to the masses

Is it wrong to create a blog post you think will be popular among the Steemit crowd or has a good chance of being upvoted?

Before we answer that, I think we need to understand why Steemians upvote content in the first place.

There are a few different reasons: affinity for the blogger, interest in the subject, to encourage similar content, etc. But one reason (which is significant, especially when we consider whale voting) is rewarding the content that is most likely to bring in an audience/drive traffic to Steemit. The biggest Steem holders have the most at stake when it comes to the success of Steem/Steemit; therefore, they want to support the kinds of posts that they feel protect (or enhance) their investment.

I can say that I've definitely written blog posts in the past with the goal of marketing Steemit to an outside audience. Here is an example of that. Often, these types of blog posts tend to be rewarded/upvoted by Steemians who see value in this type of marketing effort.

I think it's natural to want our blog posts to be successful (in terms of upvotes). Let's face it: It's a great feeling the first time one of your blog posts reaches $10. Or $100. Or the trending page.

But, I think this can be a slippery slope as well. If we completely leave behind the subject matter we are passionate about to chase the almighty upvote, I believe the quality of our content will start to slip as well. This is also the kind of situation where many would argue Steemit turns into a circle jerk.

Blogging fueled by passion

I think the majority will agree that this is the healthiest and perhaps most sustainable motivation for creating blog posts.

We all have things that we care about deeply about. One example I came across recently was @mother2chicks and their Weekly Chicken Gazette. When I come across these types of blog posts, my first thought is, "this is awesome!" I love seeing people write about the things they are passionate about.

Another one of my favourite writers (who is clearly fueled by passion) is @surfermarly. She cares about a lot of things, but she has woven her love of surfing into so many elements of her blog, including the amazing charitable cause she founded: @dreamsoftheocean.

And even my better half, @theactiveglutton, didn't start her Steemit journey by asking me: "Wade, what's popular on the site?" She told me: "I'm going to write about food, drinks, the outdoors and travel. This will be fun!"

I don't think you can go wrong when passion is your North Star.


Can you do both?

I've aimed to try to achieve a balance, where I can blog about content I care about, while still gaining support from Steemians.

A good example of this is my 20 questions interview series. Journalism is my background, and I love the process of interviewing people and asking them thought-provoking questions. I am passionate about this type of content. But beyond my own personal passion for posting these interviews, I've come to understand that this type of content is incredibly beneficial for the Steemit platform for a few reasons. 1) The influencer who I interview is introduced to Steemit when I share the completed interview link. 2) The influencer notices a dollar amount at the bottom of the post and is intrigued by how a blog post was able to generate money. Often, this leads the influencer to research Steemit and consider joining the platform. 3) The influencer often shares the interview on his/her personal social media channels; therefore, his/her audience (often, 10s or 100s of thousands of people) is exposed to Steemit content.

So I'm not sure if there is a right or wrong answer to the question I initially asked, but I do believe you can do both.


Comment below about what motivates you to blog on Steemit.

Does your blog reflect what you're passionate about? Do you blog about what you think others will find interesting or what is valuable to the platform? Or do you aim to do both?

Sort:  

We agree that there is no right or wrong answer to this question! But will share our experience.

I think part of the reason why we personally pulled back from Steemit a while ago (haven't taken our talents elsewhere just spent the time doing other things) was our frustration with the drop in interaction on Steemit that we were seeing. People stopped even reading posts and were just hoping to upvote things that went big. Even your blog post right now only has 15 views but 29 upvotes!

The platform itself is incredible but we only really have time and energy to share what we are most passionate about and interact with those things that interest us.

Hey there, Edmontonians! Thanks for the comment.

I agree that it can be frustrating when view counts are low. As for the upvote-to-view ratio... I also agree that it probably looks odd to someone visiting this platform who is not familiar how it works. (But I'm not going to complain about bot or affinity votes that come my way.)

My question to you is: Are you an active reader on Steemit? I don't want to point an accusatory finger your way; rather, I ask because I've found that reading other people's posts, and commenting, and getting to know the community is one way to not only build your audience, but actually make friendships on this platform. (For example, I wasn't aware of your blog before your comment... now I am, and I'm following you.)

I was a bit nosey: I checked out your blog and couldn't help but notice you're only following 29 people and have made less than 60 comments on posts since July 2016. If you're not happy with the fact people aren't reading your content, I'd challenge you to be an example of someone who reads (and interacts with) other people's content. After that, re-evaluate how your view count/interaction is doing... you might discover a positive result.

I hope this doesn't come across as harsh or negative. I think this kind of healthy debate is good for the platform.

That's a totally fair comment!

We are averagely active readers on Steemit! Usually the posts that we find and read/comment/upvote on are found through the tags and less so via following specific people or trending things (likely why it looks like that) and hadn't necessarily considered the option of people keeping tabs on only those that they are following (as there are now substantially more users).

I guess the other thing that comes up is that for the better part of our time on Steemit, we have been in incredibly unreliable internet areas, which made it a priority to get our posts up when we could and dominated our time on the platform - uploading pictures early on would take over an hour to do in Central America. Now being back in Canada, we have kind of stuck with that rhythm of being on to post and sporadically checking in and reading.

I have recently stumbled into some time on my hands and have been getting back into the Steemit, mostly just reading and upvoting - but I do think you are right on the interaction front! Guess we will see!

Nice thougths! Of course that the goal is to unite both, but if we should choose one, that it may be passion, and the rest comes after!

I can't argue with that. And, personally, I don't see anything wrong with uniting both.

But if you have to choose, I think it's more sustainable to write what you're passionate about. That way, you enjoy the process whether or not your content is rewarded with upvotes. People have described upvotes as "the cherry on top," which I think is the right attitude.

totally agree!

I know I would feel like I am betraying the platform in principle if I wrote a bunch of Steemit celebration posts. It starts to look like an echo chamber too fast. But if you can write well on a topic that tends to bring readers, do it.

Yeah... if everyone started blogging that way, we'd come across as a weird cult. And I don't think too many outsiders would be drawn to that.

Sometimes it already looks that way. Too many Trending posts are always about Steemit IMHO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72