Steemit design flawed for occasional writers

in #steemit8 years ago

I have written a few stories for Steemit, and noticed a design flaw that needs to be addressed. If your not in a mining club, people to gang together to upvote each others posts, you have a very limited amount of time to get votes. I think this is forty eight hours. The problem is you cannot get to enough readers in forty eight hours.

Can someone make $98.00 off a cryptocurreny talk, or $100 off of coffee art. I suppose it’s possible, however I think it not likely. I know I am not the best writer in the world. I have been trying to improve. Perhaps I have not reached the right audience. Still I believe the forty eight hour limit is far to short to reach an audience of more than a few people.

The other factor in the forty eight hour limit is amount of work anyone will put into a post. Your really fishing for votes. You need the post to be read by as many people as possible. At the same time even if the content is perfect you may not get as many eyes on it fast enough. I can see this as a discouraging factor in the design.

What amount of time would be the right amount of time? I am thinking two weeks would be a better number. Most people will be working most of the time. They don’t have the time to read steemit. This could be overcome with millions of users but steemit isn’t there yet.

The forty eight hour window is going to benefit mining clubs and hurt everyone else IMHO.

Sort:  

Why should there BE a time limit?

First, I imagine that there are a lot of technical issues related with the blockchain.
Second, if you produce 100 Steem daily, and you have 100 post published daily, then in average you pay one Steem each post. The next day you have 200 post and 100 steem, and the day after you have 300 post and 100 steem. And so on... If you don't limit the time to rewards authors, you will have a decreasing rewards each new day. Also take into account the new users coming....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98