You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: Survival tool for Africa? (Original Analysis & Thoughts)

in #steemit7 years ago

@bitfairy - you made a very valid point about connectivity. As I said in my article, it is not perfect and as you rightly point put, many areas do not even have electricity. However, use of cell phones is providing internet connectivity at remote locations at an amazing pace. I have been to some remote areas where I could not even find basic amenities for miles but had perfect cell phone coverage !! Let us hope the connectivity increases with time. I am even hoping that Steemian initiatives will help provide connecivity too some day.
Thanks for your response. Will take a look at your work too when I finish my travel.

Sort:  

Penetration of cell phones was very fast in many African countries and they had the advantage of high speed wireless so didn't have to bother building hardwired infrastructure. Technologically they had second mover advantage. Saved them an absolute fortune.
There are many micro businesses doing good work with just a cell phone started up with just a micro loan. Steemit will take off in these countries as soon as people find out about it. As you say.

"I have been to some remote areas where I could not even find basic amenities for miles but had perfect cell phone coverage !!"

It's a bit like Coke in the 60's. You could go to the most remote place in Africa and find a coca cola fridge?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67