Feature Request: We need to put more focus on the steemit search feature!!!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hello guy's thanks for stopping by. I might have a solution for the growing pile of steemit we are currently all experiencing. As I am sure everyone has noticed its getting a little bit tougher around here lately and a lot of really great content is getting buried. From what I can understand, a few simple observations, steemit is starting to drown in it's own content!

People on steemit are posting story's more than what they are probably curating and up-voting. The post lists are updating and moving way to fast, lets take the "new" and "active" lists for example.

From what I can tell there are three major factors that will allow for the average user on steemit to have launched a successful post that will trend. Also I should mention I have factored out the promote feature as not everyone at this stage can afford to use it.

Your post is most likely to trend if:

  • Your post is found by a whale
  • Your post is truly a spectacular masterpiece
  • You have a following of at least 500 people

In my experience your post will become basically invisible in roughly 3 minutes without any of the above influences. Only a few visitors after this will find your post from doing a search.

Let's Focus on Developing The Search Feature!

Have you used the search feature recently? You can find it at the top right of your screen :p . @steemit, unfortunately the tiny little search logo we currently have is no credit to an amazingly powerful feature.

Go and give it a try, type anything you want into the steemit search engine and see what you can find and you might be amazed, I constantly am! I often search related keywords to see if my posts are visible and to understand steemit SEO better.

My point is if steemit could take a little attention away from the update lists and focus more on visible and advanced search features it would help balance things out a bit. There is a ton of great content on steemit, I would up-vote some posts I find a million times if I could, because they are buried in a pile of steemit often with only a handful of up-votes!

Steemit, please can we update the search visibility and functionality!

Calling on a few developers for your feedback please.

@xeroc
@svk
@pharesim
@lantto
@picokernel
@heimindanger
@jesta
@omotherhen
@bitcoiner
@ontofractal

Thanks for reading much appreciated,

Cheerz!

Sort:  

This is actually a very good point, If steemit could offer and incentive to get users to shift there focus to using the search feature it would probably revive tons of content. Great post thanks!

You can use the search engine that I built, https://steemshovel.com in the meantime. I searched there for "Steemit search" and found this post (which is currently number 1 for that term)

Awesome thanks for the great info I really do appreciate it!

How has this still not been taken care of? lol - Steemit is great but this search "feature" is seriously lacking some usefulness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39