Compound Interest of Reading: A Journey through Books

in #steemit2 months ago (edited)

Hey everyone! How are you doing? Today I want to talk to you about the compound interest of reading. I'm currently finishing this book, "Weapons of Hermes Steel."

Last year, I picked up a list from Amazon titled "100 Books to Read Before You Die," and I decided to take it seriously, as a mission to complete these books. This is my ninth book from the list, and the interesting thing is that it includes books from A to Z, covering various topics and authors. This allows you to gain a perception of very different narratives, stories, and lessons. I believe this is the great benefit of reading.

My Reading Journey

Since I was a child, I was encouraged to read by my teachers, and as a result, I've read a good number of books over my life. I have no idea how many books I've read, but I know that my record was during the pandemic when I read 24 books. However, I don't think reading a book a week is productive. You should enjoy the reading experience, understand the message the author wants to convey. At the same time, I think many books are bad and could be summarized in 10 pages. I understand capitalism is there to sell and market, but I'm not afraid to abandon bad books. If I start a book and realize I don't like it, I put it aside. Maybe at another time in my life, I'll return to it and find it amazing, but I don't hesitate to leave books unfinished.

The Power of Diverse Knowledge

What I want to emphasize is that accumulating knowledge in areas like mathematics, sciences, physical education, anthropology, information technology, business, adventures, tales, fables, and biographies creates a compound interest effect in your life that is enormous. It allows you to discuss a wide range of topics with anyone without feeling like you're walking on eggshells. This is very enriching because the more you read, the more you enhance your brain. You'll expand your vocabulary and learn about various topics.

Expanding Reading Horizons

I highly recommend stepping out of your comfort zone. For a long period, I read many self-development books and bestsellers. Over the last four years, I've challenged myself to read different genres and authors to understand how others think. I've been greatly surprised by some Russian writers, like Dostoevsky. Their style of writing was new to me. Similarly, when you read the Bible, you see that it has a very different writing style, which, while timeless, is unlike any contemporary reading we do today. It's enjoyable and rewarding, and I recommend it to everyone.

Reading with Purpose

The goal is to read as much as you can, not quickly, but with pleasure, quality, and enjoyment. This way, you develop a reading habit, learn new words daily, and revisit lesser-used words in your vocabulary, enriching you in countless ways. It helps in conversations, job interviews, writing, and any situation requiring knowledge. The information will be right there in your brain.

I don't agree with numbering the books you've read or taking photos of them. People who claim to read a book a week or 10 books a month often can't discuss the books in detail. They don't benefit from the reading; they just want to read quickly to post a picture on Instagram. I don't think this is advantageous at all.

IMG_3896.jpg


That's the message for today. See you next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45