You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Third Update to July 14th Security Announcement - Account Recovery Begins

in #steemit8 years ago

Thanks @ned, but there is no pencil icon anymore. Before the hack I remember seeing the pencil icon after pressing the bold black text to login... Now there is a blue button to login or show the private key on the right side of the keys... but it is not possible to show the private owner key anymore like before... and it is not easy to use steemit with the posting brain key being the same like the owner brain key...
I pressed the "change password" button below which changed all the keys... but still I do not get the options like the pencil... the security team seems to have changed this permissions page...

Sort:  

It is the same situation for me. The account recovery process seemed to work but there are no icons next to the private owner key, which makes me unsure if I am actually logged in as the owner or not since I see no way to change only the owner password. I am not sure if I should use the "change password" option again? The last time I did so, I still did not see any pencil option or any way to change only the owner key. I'll watch the site for answers/updates, thanks!

Thats correct, one password change on the Steemit GUI will now change all four keys. A user may manage each of the four keys outside of Steemit or using his/her password manager, such as Last Pass. Combined with 'Compromised Account Recovery', the single 'Change Password' is a balance between secure key management and usability. We'll be publishing and pinning more info on Steemit GUI's security and password manager in a post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70