Meet Porter...He's One Of A Kind!

in #steemit8 years ago

Hey Steemers

I have a confession to make

I am a SERIOUS dog lover

I mean, I love my wife and my kids, they are...great...but me and my dog, we have some sort of special bond. Even the family comments on it all the time.

So I thought I would introduce all you Steemers to one of my best mates....

Porter the German Shephard

Hey Steemers
This is my "i'm on my best behaviour pose!"

Porter is currently 19 months old, and is still learning some training, but has so far progressed really well.

We found Porter from a breeder about 5 hours drive from where we live. She mainly breeds German Shephards for the Armed Forces, Police Force etc, so I always knew he was coming from good stocks.

Here is a pic the day the day we picked him up, this is Porter and his sister, Midori, in the car on the way home.

Porter and Midori
Porter is on the left, Midori on the right

We picked up Midori for a close friend, and would drop her off on the way home that day.

Alot of people think Porter is a strange name for a dog, and to some extant I have to agree...I got the name from one of my favourite movies - Payback with Mel Gibson.

The main character in that movie is named Porter, and there is also a very protective and brave dog (although not a German Shephard) also named Porter. Sounds confusing I know...but a really cool movie about revenge, you should watch it to find out more.

Anyway, Porter was always supposed to be a guard dog for my property, a sort of mobile alarm system....I have this sign posted on the fence that borders my property.

enter image description here

To outsiders he comes across as tough, vicious, a dog you just don't mess with, but to the family, and especially me, he is just like a giant living teddy bear. He just loves cuddles, and would hog the bed all night if i let him.

Yep he sleeps inside when its cold, but outside in the summer months.

We have had many adventures exploring and walking through local bush land, here a some pics of our journeys.

POrter and busterThe little dog's name is Buster, Porter is around 4mths old here

enter image description herePorter is eying off some Kangaroos, you can just see them

enter image description hereSeptember 2015, trip to the beach, about 7mths old here

Here is my "alarm system" getting fitted to another great love of mine....my 1972 Charger.

enter image description here

I dont quite know where it stems from, but I have sort of connections with dogs, we have three dogs in total

Porter, then there's Buster - he's a 10 year old wiry Jack Russell cross thingy with a major chip on his shoulder

enter image description here

and there's Theodore - (my wife named him don't blame me) He is a Shar Pai crossed with Staffordshire Terrier- he is pretty easy going as long as there is plenty of food around!

enter image description here

All the dogs seem to respect me and they all get on well, but Porter and I have a special bond

He will talk to me...I mean he will come up to me on the lounge, snuggle up to me and start grunting like he is trying to talk. He waits for my response, then grunts again. I'll have to get a video of it one of these days.

I do find I talk to my dog...I will discuss my problems, my fears and my hopes and dreams, just like I would to a real person. This is the look I normally get from him!

enter image description here

I am always blown away by how they loyal dogs are, they will literally lay down their life for you, they love you uncondditionally, even when they don't relly understand how man's works works, they will do anything totry to keep you happy.

Thats why I will aalways love dogs - their loyalty is above and beyond any person. I have been let donw and hurt by many people in my life, but I have NEVER had a dog intentionally go out of his way to hurt me like that.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why I will always love dogs!

Sort:  

He has the dark coloration on his feet like my DOGE, Captain. Captain get that from biting his feet. His pic and story are in my blog. :) Porter looks awesome!

Welcome to the amazing world of steemit. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53